I Am Still Alive

by Nick Andrea

The following excerpt is something I imagined from the perspective of an American soldier in a boat on his way to the beaches of Normandy, D-Day, June 6, 1944.

In the boat,
Beach in site,
Not a word being spoken,
Smell of vomit permeates the air.

Heading to my death,
Dressed in drab, green uniforms,
Carrying guns, grenades;
The machine at its peak.

Maybe I will get cut up the moment I step into the water –
Bullets, blood, and salt water.
What’s going to save me now?

“Heaven and earth treat humans as straw dogs.”
The universe cares not for my body, mind, persona.
Throwing up,
A straw dog.

“At least we’re fighting for something.
The Germans have done awful things.”

But the body doesn’t care,
Throwing up, again,
Dead already.

“God is naked, wild, impartial.
His logic runs beyond human comprehension.”

Sighing.
But I am still alive.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Poetry, Politics? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment