What Is My Purpose?

by Nick Andrea

I’ve been trying to understand my purpose in the world since I was, like, 16 – ever since I first awoke to there being something greater than myself. After so many years, however, I still feel no closer to the answer. Yet, this is not uncommon. The most incredible clinical massage therapist I know is 52 and still has no clue what he wants to do with his life.

There is one clue I have found, however, that clarifies it: the dawning of awareness within me. Awareness, also referred to as presence or consciousness, became my purpose the moment I first experienced it. When I discover something so wonderful, so liberating, I naturally want to share it with the world, because liberation is, after all, what I want.

My purpose, therefore, is to awaken consciousness in the world of form. While that may sound vague because it’s more abstract than, say, working with UNICEF to alleviate hunger in western Uganda, I feel it is actually very important to stay focused on the abstract goal. This is because the method through which consciousness is communicated belongs to the world of form, thus, it changes. So, the method is not the goal because the goal belongs to the formless realm, which never changes. Moreover, the method can even become a point of ego and attachment, which will distract from the overall goal.

So, I think if I stay focused on it the path will reveal itself before my feet, one step at a time.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Is My Purpose?

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    Remember, you can only awaken those who are ready. When I first started awakening (as I’m ever doing), I wanted to share it with everyone and help them to awaken too. The only thing that resulted was a lot of cynicism. I learned that the only way to do it was by example. Also, in publishing my words, they might reach people who are ready.

    Recently my heart has been calling me to a new purpose, so our purpose may change as we grow older. I find that I have a natural talent for comforting those who grieve. So, I’ve been volunteering to help the grief stricken.

    Keep listening to your calling heart for your purpose, but I wouldn’t rule out adding some reason and logic to balance things out.

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Thanks Lori. What do you mean by reason and logic?
      My teacher told me that you have to be willing to sound like a raving mad man to make a difference in the world, and that there’s no such thing as in one ear and out the other, and not to be attached to seeing change in one’s lifetime.
      I used to work with incarcerated teenage boys, and my coworker told me one that you just never know who you’re affecting. So, how do I know if somebody is ready or not?
      Hoping to become more of that madman everyday….

      • Lori DiNardi says:

        Hey Nick, yes, you never know who you’re affecting. All you can do is plant a seed and leave it in hopes that it cultivates.

        It’s my opinion that we don’t use enough balance. When we get too extreme on one side or another, it’s like someone getting off the other side of a see-saw with me. They slam the weight of my own a$$ to the ground. It’s painful, and pain will be the result of imbalance. Like I said, this is my opinion/perspective. That’s why I like to use my heart, but not forget the brain that God gave me to reason with either. Perhaps some people need to feel the pain to bring them back in balance, but ultimately, I believe balance is the key. Or, perhaps it’s just the Libra in me. 🙂

  2. NickAndrea19 says:

    I read your poem and I was wondering what you meant by removing the lion from your presence?

    The balance you talk about reminds me of something I heard from a zen master who said the way he deals with difficult people is just sticking to them, but without interfering. Then, one day when their window opens, he steps in to help them see something they didn’t before. It’s like tai chi, I guess.

Leave a Reply

