Freebird In A Cage

by Nick Andrea

I am a
Freebird in a cage,
With seven floors.

On the first floor
I am utterly dependent,
Sitting helplessly as a prisoner
On the floor.
“I just can’t do anything about it.”

On the second floor
I recognize my cage
And fight, tooth and nail, against it.
“Ain’t nothing gonna cage this freebird.”

On the third floor,
I take responsibility for my cage,
And work to free myself.
“After all, I chose this.”

On the fourth floor,
I accept the cage and end the struggle against it,
I look around and see all the other freebirds
Also in cages.
“How can I help you?”

On the fifth floor,
I play with the cage,
Decorating it with song, word, and color.
“The cage is beautiful.”

On the sixth floor,
My cage suddenly expands;
All the freebirds are in the same cage.
“We’re all one.”

On the seventh floor,
The cage disappears.
There never was a cage to begin with.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freebird In A Cage

  1. Dana Fuhrman says:

    WOW. Just wow. Ok, and beautiful. And thank you for this.

Leave a comment