Yearning

by Nicholas “The Bard” Andrea

At dusk, I yearn for your kiss
like a parched mouth yearns for water
or the mystic’s cheek for one puff of breath from the Friend

for, now I see what in you receives how I most desire to serve;

tell me, Friend, where is my love to be found, tonight?
where is the gratification of my heart to be obtained
like a rare and precious pearl happened upon by chance or design beyond this mind?

but the trees, knowing even my question
stand, silently, and only watch –

what does it all mean, I wonder?

But, because you, my leafen friends, won’t answer
nor you, sky above
I am forced to turn around and gaze at the one gazing

I am forced to eat the communion wafer of my own yearning, tonight
and let it transubstantiate into these words;

I will take my unmet desire to dreamworld, this eventide
and let it grow my wings one notch bigger
one notch bigger

and tomorrow, fly one mile higher;

Goodnight, Friend, goodnight.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Love Chronicles, Poetry, Sufi Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

