Dusk, May 9

by Nicholas “The Bard” Andrea

On a distant horizon this evening, earth meets the heaven speaking to me of things beyond;

a miraculous pinpoint appears against the periwinkle backdrop
the first planet to come out and dance in the dusk
reminding me, we are not alone;

she hovers there, just teasing me out of myself
with the words,”vastness, vastness” –
I didn’t know planets could talk;

and these rose-colored clouds painted by some unnameable artist,
they speak too, “There is something more than this,” they say,
“Look up! Look up to the unknown and the dissolution of your mechanisms control.
Lay down your mind to such unfathomable love”;

and these trees, though silent tonight, they also know what’s going on
it is so clear in the way they look at me –
so intent, so undivided, so present –

o, they get it alright
as do these crickets with their chorusing

and the winged ones now putting the finishing touches on their daylong symphonies –
choo! choo! choo!
reek! reek!
hue-hue-hue-hue!
some cardinal papa is telling his son, “Turn that off, brush your beak, and get to nest.”

O! these May nights are more precious to me than gold
they beckon my inner flower to unfold
and I just can’t resist the story to be told!

phew…

O God
the light now fails and a curtain of blue is pulled back,
for the nightly show is about to begin

I’d better go get my guitar.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Love Chronicles, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

