How Much Faith Do You Have?

by Nicholas Andrea

Desire, that is, the thought that I’m not enough
is what keeps me from the present moment –

if I try to change the world for myself, alone
life will up the ante with a bitchslap –

show me that I’m already getting what I need

in

this

moment –
how much faith do I have?

This morning
the irritation of her insistence on staying in the room –
our room, MY fucking room –
and continuing to do her thing
while I was doing my writing

became a bloody finger when I
grabbed my mat and stormed off, bending
my nail gnarly back
in the fury –

here
you
go, my friend –

how much faith do you have?

Desire is a veil that obscures the truth that
God does everything, even
the things that I think separate me from that being, that

provides for all my needs, that
guides every movement of my hand, every
step I take in the sand, every
breath, every breath
cannot even happen without that deeper command;

and so I sit, suspended,

hanging
off the edge of a cliff
by my teeth –

wondering

waiting

for the next breath to breathe me, as
life, itself, the same

life that guides the stars, the same
life that lived as the dinosaurs, the same

life that looks through your very own eyes right now;

tell me, God, tell me
am I really ok
am I really ok, God, just as I am?

And he answers –

“How much faith do you have, my son
how much faith do you have?”

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Healing Poems, Inspiration, Intuition, Poetry, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

