This Insane Brain

by Nicholas Andrea

This brain has gone insane
so, I must abandon it for a deeper plane
where an unreasonable peace ensues
and good, bad, right, and wrong collapse into the same;

The relationship has gone bad
with an abundance of mad and sad
and a notable lack of glad,

cause we related only from that brain
that insane brain that seeks only to control, claim;

Can we run, can we hide
can we pretend these problems are not, of us, inside,
that it’s not our own responsibility to
that deep and abiding peace, find?

Egos clash, unceasingly, see
looking for righteousness in one’s own self, relentlessly,
proclaiming, “You should see things my way, because
my pain is greater that yours, I say.”

Yea…who doesn’t have pain
the day they realized they were
separate and alone, again
no longer basking in the blissful warmth of mother’s womb, but
reincarnated, here, onto this plane?

No, ego will never solve these problems,
“I’m right and you’re wrong,” can never
pave the way for relationship harmony to stay, for long
for, how can we sing together when, “I, my, me,” is our only song?

But, to relate from the place of non-duality
finding ourselves standing on the same ground, interconnectedly
where right and wrong cease to be…
is this not the only way to create true connectivity?
Is not trust in this deeper plane where
we are indivisibly connected
the only way to stay sane?

And, how do we access, my friend,
this deep place of grace
where shines our most beautiful face?
How do we live from that
even when conflict beckons our egos to spat
negativities in another’s direction,
futile attempts to change their inner complexion?
How do we plant our tree
in the deepest part of the sea
where, at the bottom, things never change
even while on the surface
they may never stay the same?

I sat quietly, and this is what came:
(Enter your own spontaneous expression of presence, here, OR read on…)

Sitting here, breathing
pausing with each exhale, suspending
thought, awaiting
the next breathe to breathe “me”

and allowing it to, when it comes, naturally;

always suspended, waiting for the next call from
within;
like hanging off the edge of a cliff
holding on with my teeth, to a branch, thin;

Now, the sound of a crow calling, *caw* *caw* (crosses the mirror of mind),
and then silence;

and then another call, *caw* *caw*
and then silence;

and then another call,*caw* *cawwwwwwwwwwww*
but still silence, underneath;

feeling the inner body, now
sinking back, like falling, into Self – how?
A sinking, yes a sinking,
getting low, not high in feeling;

low,
into the lower back, now,
where the hips meet the body, and the breath,
there is an ocean in my belly
tingling, chi pulsing;

feeling it now in my hands and legs and feet,
energy dancing with sweet
delight, animating this vessel of spirit,
so happy to have a body to play with;

Now, opening these eyes
the world looks clearer than before
“I” am more detached, and yet more connected;
“I” am more who I am, therefore,

we have now come to the end
of this, so, let’s self transcend:
how can we be one, friend?
how can we be one?
Amen.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Healing Poems, Inspiration, Intuition, Metaphysics, Poetry, Relationships and Self, Unitarian Universalism, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

