Life and Death

by Nicholas Andrea

Life and death
a cosmic joke,
a spirit comes and
a spirit goes,

pretends for a little while
not to know, and
finds itself in the
throes of woes.

But, if that fact we really know
how, differently, would we choose
what, and how we do, the dance of life –
or how we express the Muse?

This moment
YAH!
What do we see,
is it timeless and eternal
never beginning and never ending,
or are we, by this, deceived?

A cat once died and a woman cried
a suffering for, perhaps,
believing a lie,
not that she could avoid it;
to have flesh is to see, limited.

But I, I thought about that woman
and I, too, cried
until I saw something
and went from cry to laugh,
did I –
the absurdity of the dream
for which there is so much suffering…

Why do we do it,
forget to intuit
the timeless wholeness
that we are?
Why do we walk this world,
unable and unwilling to see, afar,
asleep like a dead animal, that
long ago, fell into the pits of tar?

I cannot for sure say
anything on the matter
but for this, today:
we fell asleep and dreaming
separation from all this, real, seeming
only that one day
we may again awake
and see it’s all okay;
only that one day we may
do as, today, did I:
go from laugh, to cry.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Intuition, Metaphysics, Poetry, Unitarian Universalism, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life and Death

  1. Lori D says:

    You express beautifully in your poetry. I once wrote a poem on this same subject, except I was feeling anger as to why we keep coming here to experience this physical world. My poem expressed into words with a frustrated tone. Yours has expressed, simply, serenely and lovely.

Leave a Reply

