Cosmic Evolution

by Nick Andrea

Society is evolving to a place where its businesses, systems, institutions, religions, even its art, will be founded in non-duality. That is, the well being of all life will be considered in decision making.

This universal sentiment was called, “Neohumanism,” by the Indian philosopher, P.R. Sarkar, and it refers to educating humans about their place in the larger context of the universe. Quoting Maria Montessori, Michael Dowd said, “If the story of the universe, of evolution, is the foundation of education, then children know who they are, where they are, and how all the sciences all fit into a coherent whole.” And, quoting Carl Sagan, he also said, “We are the local embodiment of a cosmos grown to self-awareness. We have begun to contemplate our origins, star stuff pondering the stars” (from his video, “The Great Story.”).

The ancient Greek concept of “cosmos” entailed a connection between this and that, that there was no separation between Arcturus, thirty-seven light years away, this chair I’m sitting in, and myself. I am not separate from the universe. I am, in fact, the universe that has become aware of itself. I am the trees, the birds, the fish, the streams, the stars; I am everything, become conscious of itself as a human being – everything, in a human body. And, it is this sense of oneness with all the other parts that allows me to live, work, and make decisions in harmony with all the other parts.

Like a single cell that is part of a multicellular organism, awakening to understand that to serve the whole is to serve itself, the neohumanist sentiment is the next phase of our evolution. When the dynfunctional institutions of war, polluting the atmosphere, poisoning humans and animals for profit, and gaining financially on the backs of virtual slave labor, have reached their breaking point of unsustainability – as they already have in many cases – we will build our new society upon the realization of universal well being.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Politics?, Science and Spirit, Unitarian Universalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cosmic Evolution

  1. Lori D says:

    I have no clue if I am right or wrong, I just pray, meditate, observe and educate myself on a regular basis. Having said that, this place … the material world, keeps repeating history time and time again. Every time this place … the material world, gets through another dark era and appears to be on the road to enlightenment and/or non-duality, it begins to slip slowly backward again, into a dark place, repeating the exact same things. I am a student of history and see the same patterns over and over and over, and they are happening again. I can’t help but wonder if the-One purposely manifests here to experience a false-duality to play and to learn. It’s just a thought. Like I said, I have no clue. It’s something I’ve pondered.

Leave a Reply

