Finding Myself Again

by Nick Andrea

Life became a desert
sucking dry
the waters of life
from this supply.

Got me thinking ’bout
post-middle-aged Oracles,
you know the kind,
the ones with enough love
to heat the United States and Canada combined,
AND
enough insight into your soul
to stop your mind
for whom this just can’t be possible;

who accomplish not through
rote
spiritual
discipline –
whoa no, these wise women
love their life the world in –
but rather
through
gentleness…

Oh yes,
the Sacred Feminine is a wise teacher,
her message to me:
can you make a plant grow faster
by pulling on its leaves?

Destiny is not attained, you see
but is a plant already growing
in your garden.
All it takes
is a little attention and lovin.

That I’d have to surrender
to a structureless path –
despite its apparent dangers,
lack of guarantees,
and nebulous footpaths…

I would,
That the only commandment is to
Love thy God with all your
heart,
soul,
strength,
and mind, and to
love your neighbor as
yourself –
that is most the natural way I can find.

What can I say but
“yes”
to that which to me
is most beloved
After all,
it was I who once wrote
“…and when you finally realize what life is about you will be filled with love.”

Ah, Ramana Maharshi,
that spirit dove,
he was right:
the body is no obstacle to
adopting the
mind
of
the One,
for such is a spontaneous thing,
a grace that lands upon me,
not one, that is won.

Phew
My yoga tonight is relaxation,
a lazy slob gettin’ nothing done,
that lyric may flow
the water of life
from this soul.

Not a new lesson,
but one the Christ once told me so,
boldly,
whence we met…
How,
and when,
did we forget?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Healing Poems, Inspiration, Love Chronicles, Poetry, Uncategorized, Unitarian Universalism, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

