The Grand Synchronicity in Business

by Nick Andrea

In my post, The Grand Synchronicity, I talked about my experience that the universe is a giant synchronicity happening all the time, everywhere; that we are all connected in unseen ways, inexplicably and indestructibly.

My next question was, “how can business be done with such an awareness?” What are the principles that would emerge? Here’s what I came up with:

  1. Non-control. Nothing is ever done by or for myself, alone. The idea of personal profit, even, is a misnomer because if I am interconnected with others, there is nothing I receive that is for myself, alone. That doesn’t mean my business has to be a non-profit, though. I think a good middle ground is the gift economy (illustrated beautifully by Jason Spencer in word and work). Because our work is worth more than money, instead of setting a monetary value on it, suggest a gift price in return for sharing our gift. Thereby, we are trusting the Grand Synchronicity to provide, that if I focus on giving my gift, even if I suggest a gift price in exchange, I can expect the Synchronicity to return in kind. What would happen if most people worked this way?
  2. Sacredness. Everything has meaning, is sacred, is an opportunity for growth, as the title of Charles Eisenstein‘s book suggests, Sacred Economics. To value every event and every person as sacred in our work allows us to see beyond their monetary value, the cornerstone of sacred business.
  3. The Art of Listening. As entrepreneurs, we tend to think of ourselves as the “doers.” Self-starters, we feel we are responsible for our own fate and, in some cases, the fate of others, right. But, in The Grand Synchronicity, it’s not a separate self that does anything. Rather, it’s the whole moving, AS this self. I am still I, AND I am everything. I think this is important because it puts the self in its proper context – not the doer, but the listener. Like an artist, the sacred entrepreneur is just a tool of the Synchronicity to express itself.
  4. Tribe. Tribe members realize they’re on the same side. They share a common fate. The Big Tribe includes all of life, which is inextricably bound to the same fate. There are smaller sub-tribes, micro-instances of the Big Tribe. These are small groups that share a stronger resonance of synchronicity than others. This, of course, doesn’t separate them from the Big Tribe, they’re simply more personal versions of it (kind of like the Vedic concept of Atman/Brahman is to the idea of God).
    Your personal tribe is those people whose presence in your life helps you find your place, the unique way you contribute to the whole. In my own life, a dramatic example of this is African polyrhythmic drumming in which no one part makes the song, but together they create rich tapestries of rhythmic complexity and order. Each person, just doing their job (purpose) in sync with others, creates something of magnificence.
  5. Fearlessness and Nonviolence. I have issues. I bet you do, too. That’s a condition of having an ego. And, egos are going to clash, especially in our tribes. However, when we remember that we’re all part of The Grand Synchronicity, I believe it gives us the trust to handle these conflicts honestly and non-violently. Even if we can’t trust our tribesman, we can trust The Grand SynchronicityI read about Marshall Rosenberg, a Jewish man who developed Non-Violent Communication. He went into a Palestinian mosques and practicing his method of communication. Though it took hours to de-escalate the angry Muslims man he was engaging, it worked, and an impossible bond was formed.

Business is what makes the world go ’round. It’s where people are free to use their creativity to make the world a better place and support themselves doing what they love. I think recognizing the synchronicity in all things provides us with a new model for doing business, one that includes others at its very roots. And, I think that will naturally make the world a better place.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Business Lessons, Culture, Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Intuition, Metaphysics, Politics?, Relationships and Self, Science and Spirit, Unitarian Universalism, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

