Dreams, Dreams, Dreams

by Nick Andrea

When I was young I thought I was destined for awesome things: having a wife whose beauty would never fade, a million dollars, rock star status in my chosen field, spiritual enlightenment, etc. My ego couldn’t envision anything less than absolute perfection in the ways it thought it should look.

The reality has turned out to look quite different, though. I never imagined that the luster of my partner’s beauty would wear off after six months, or that I’d be living month to month, financially, or that ten years into my career I wouldn’t have stuck with anything long enough to feel like I’ve made any headway, or that after thirty years of life I’d still be a human being with issues.

Yet, I have discovered that life blesses me in unexpected ways. I never imagined that I would teach incarcerated boys how to drum and perform music, something I consider a vocational masterpiece. I never foresaw the friendships I would develop over time, each one of them deepening my experience of unconditional love. I never envisioned that the perfect spiritual teacher for me would be a very relaxed, present, in-the-world kind of a guy rather than an uber-disciplined yogi monk. And, I never anticipated that I would share a psychic connection with a woman, so strong that it would seem as though we were pre-tuned for one another from birth.

So, I guess as the song goes, “We can’t always get what we want.” But, if we let go and remain open to the ways in which the Universe is always conspiring to bless us, well, “[we] just might find, [we] get what we need (Rolling Stones).”

Now that’s a greater blessing than I could have ever dreamed of.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Love Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreams, Dreams, Dreams

  1. Every time I get a moment and read a blog it just fits perfectly for me -at the exact moment I need it; you ‘speak’ it….thank you always Nick!

  2. Lori D says:

    This is a lovely post, Nick. It reminds me of a quote by Joseph Campbell. “We must let go of the life we have planned so as to accept the one we have waiting for us.”

Leave a Reply

