Relationships In Business

by Nick Andrea

I work with some of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met. This is a blessing I never dreamed of, and I am very grateful for it. Through this I have come to see my business superpower to be attracting awesome, inspiring people.

However, this skill hasn’t been born easily. I have had to deal with some people who made me feel expendable, undervalued, and used. I used to be really afraid of not having enough money. I’m sure that’s common with freelancers. Thus, despite being in an uncomfortable work situation I would keep returning, afraid of facing the unknown void of alternative possibilities.

Eventually, however, I have started to realize that I can say no and that the “not-knowing monster” was preferable to remaining in business relationships and partnerships that were self-demeaning. A good example is an interaction I had yesterday. I had a gig as a test run for this client to see my work. If it went well she was going to give me many more sites. I was, however, working through a third person who never clearly communicated the parameters. So, even thought I successfully completed the job I was told that it was “over-priced” and “should have been done in a timely manner.”

It was in that same email that I also found out that what was being asked of me was to produce a simple template, not a 20+ page site in its entirety, which the third party intermediary asked me to do. Despite her dissatisfaction, however, she was “willing to give me a second chance.” (Nevermind the fact that she was paying less than half of what I normally charge for freelance work.)

So, I first felt that her assertion about the value and timeliness of my work was unfair. Moreover, her willingness to “give me a second chance” was condescending, at best. So, I was faced with the choice between a likely guarantee of 25 more sites at half of what I normally charge (and a “boss”), or focus on the clients I already did have – and happen to love.

I chose the latter. Oddly enough, I got a new client yesterday afternoon, one who I am very excited to work with and for. Funny how that works.

I conclude that the quality of my relationships in business takes precedence over the money. It is important to build and maintain mutually respectful, valuing, and rewarding relationships. It adds life – energy – to the work. It adds purpose to the money being made. More than material abundance, it becomes personally gratifying as I grow through my interactions with my clients and colleagues.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Business Lessons, Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Relationships In Business

  1. Lori D says:

    This is great news and a good example, Nick. I had something similar happen to me recently, or rather, to my husband regarding business. I wrote about it on my blog last month. I’m glad you trusted your gut on what to do with your clients. May more blessings come your way.
    http://loreezlane.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/joining-the-ranks/
    http://loreezlane.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/employment-update/

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Those are uplifting reflections on the state of things. I like how you acknowledged things as they are, “but the irresponsible bureaucracy in charge isn’t making it any easier for those who are responsible,” but kept the message positive, “It also reminds me to have faith in Divine Order.” That’s kind of the meat and potatoes of the whole thing, eh?

      It’s awesome that you’re publishing a novel. Godspeed on that.

Leave a Reply

