What is Power?

by Nick Andrea

All human beings want the same thing: happiness. To that end we amass power, and of this there are two varieties:

  1. Relative Power
  2. Absolute Power

Relative power belongs to the world of form where things are not equal, where they are constantly changing, where it’s possible not to have enough. Examples include money, health, and intellect. Having more money allows me greater freedom to purchase things that make life comfortable, fun, or interesting. Greater health allows me to excel in athletics, be a better dancer, or live longer. Increased intellectual power allows me to trade stocks, create a successful web app, or explain quantum physics to someone. But, do these things make me ultimately happy?

Absolute power exists in the world of formlessness, the inner world; in a word, absolute power is non-attachment. This type of prowess allows us to navigate life’s myriad experiences without losing our integrity. Faith overcomes fear as gains and losses of relative power do not phase us. The reason absolute power exists independent of the world of form is that it’s based on a choice, not a set of circumstances.

Is one type of power more important than the other? No, however, one cannot serve two masters equally. One must take the lead. Personally, I’d like to enjoy prosperity, health, and a deep understanding of things. The sweet spot, however, is in not being attached to them.

So, can I pursue prosperity without being afraid to end up on the curb? Can I seek health without worrying about how I will feel when my body is old? Can I pursue knowledge without ego? If the answer is yes, then I might be able to live my life with authenticity. What’s not powerful about that?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

