Evolution

by Nick Andrea

The day before the Pope resigned I heard a piece on NPR which said that his reason was that his efforts to affect change were continually frustrated. If those efforts had anything to do with his historical tendencies of being anti-gay policies, making anti-Islamic remarks, or protecting sexually repressed clergy members who abusing children, then I doth take it as a sign that consciousness is evolving on planet Earth.

As Eckhart Tolle says in A New Earth, religious institutions that do not evolve with the new consciousness will crumble and fall. I am glad the Catholic Church is struggling for its identity because it means it will meet one of those two fates, either of which will, I believe, be good for humanity.

I hope that doesn’t offend you, my beloved reader. I’ve been told that I have a tendency to ruffle feathers. If that means that I believe that all people, regardless of sexual orientation, shall be granted basic human rights, then I am guilty. If that means that I stand for the fact that absolute truth – which can be confined to no form – may be viewed from a myriad of perspectives, then I am a transgressor. If that means that I am convinced spirituality and sexuality can coexist in the life of a spiritual leader, then convict me.

Thank you, Pope Benedict XVI, for retiring. It was a courageous and bold move. I sincerely hope you join us in the New Earth.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Encounters With Spirit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Evolution

  1. Pingback: Pope View On Evolution – Pope John Paul II Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia | Pope Resigns

Leave a Reply

