The End Of The World, The Beginning Of The World

by Nick Andrea

Good morning, dear friends, and happy December 21, 2012 to you all. On this “end of the world,” let us begin creating a new world based in universal human consciousness, where the care and concern of all beings, regardless of race, creed, caste, or species, is ours.

How do we create this new world? Actually, we don’t have to. It’s already here. It’s been here since the first perceiving consciousness appeared on this planet to witness it. It hasn’t manifested by and large, however, for one primary reason: thinking.

Thinking obscures the voice of our true selves. It is therein that our ego, or the illusion of our separateness, exists. The goal of meditation and spiritual practice, therefore, is to drop the thinking. In that simple act do we find ourselves in the moment, the only place the divine exists.

Now, I used to think it takes a great deal of commitment and discipline to accomplish this, and I have discovered that, in fact, it does. Except, it has nothing to do with sitting on a mat 10 hours a day, extensive fasting, or any such outer discipline. It is the discipline to be in this moment, perpetually; to trust the moment enough to surrender to what is. Then, what is needed in that moment is clear and intuitive. If we are hungry, eat, if we are tired, sleep, if there is a dog in front of us, play with it, if we are on vacation with our family, be with them.

Non-thinking, we already know what to do. Universal human consciousness already is. The most profound act is to just be in this moment. We will know what to do.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat, or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing. Consider the ravens: the neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds!” (Luke 12:22-24)

Amen.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Love Chronicles, Wisdom from Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The End Of The World, The Beginning Of The World

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    So true, it takes much discipline to stay in the moment at all moments. Just a quick comment about “thinking.” I tend to believe that creation comes from thought. So, whatever we think, we create. If we worry, we create things to worry about. I do love that passage in Luke. Thanks for this thoughtful post, Nick. I needed it, cause I tend to be a worrier. Have a wonderful Christmas.

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Lori, thank you for your comment. As you can see, long gaps pass between when I get a chance to write. I could spend all day most days doing this. Work has me busy right now, which is the excuse I use not to change my frame and create a new possibility for my life.
      I brought this very issue up to a friend, yesterday, who said, “You don’t find the time and money to do what you want to. You say yes to it and watch what happens.” That’s radical.

      I know it’s not directly related to your comment on THIS post, however, since we’ve been having this conversation I thought I’d mention that.

      Re: your comment, Ernest Holmes says in The Science of Mind that we cannot help but create, for better or for worse. Like you I’ve had my excess of worry. I’m not sure if you have spiritual practice or not, but I find centering in meditation, yoga, drumming, and walking. Those are great methods for me to channel that excess thinking energy so it can be transformed and then used more consciously.

      I hope you had an awesome holiday. 🙂

      • Lori D says:

        Hi Nick, yes, I do use walking, meditation and yoga as a spiritual practice. I also repeat positive mantras. I think my worrying comes from deeper control issues. Issues I try to work on every day. Best of wishes to you for whatever you decide for your life. Good to hear from you. Keep up the good spiritual work.

      • NickAndrea19 says:

        Thanks, Lori. 🙂

        Most people I know including myself struggle with control issues or some sort or another. I mean, if you could see God 24-7 right in front of you, this beautiful, warm, obliterating love would you feel the need to control anything? I sure wouldn’t ha ha ha!

        But, we’re only only human so we do our best. I think yoga is a good example. Every day I go a little deeper, not much, just a little, but it is persistent, and I think the best spiritual growth happens that way. 🙂

        I don’t know how you feel about reincarnation, but perhaps we’ve been asking these questions for many lifetimes together, and perhaps we will ask them for many more.

Leave a Reply

