by Nick Andrea

I noticed myself, yesterday, feeling down – a little sad and lethargic. Naturally, I didn’t want to feel this way and my instinctive reaction was to do something about it. In my case, that defaulted to feeling like I had to do work, because then I would feel worthy, or something.

Yet, “doing something” to get out of my sadness has not changes a thing. Yesterday, therefore, I chose a different path, I chose to just be with it.

Eventually it opened up and liberated itself in a beautiful way. It was as if the energy transmuted into beauty like a butterfly.

So, “being with” is my new default approach to uncomfortable feelings.

How many of us are relentlessly driven to busyness by our pain? A good majority, I reckon. It is the overachiever’s syndrome, the sense of “I’m not enough,” and it pushes us to do, do, and do more. Yet, it never solves our problems. We’re stuck feeling the same way as we always did, with the added layer of busyness.

So maybe pain is not a call to do more, but to go inward and nourish our little baby soul within.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I’ve never had a problem with allowing my emotions to just be. I’d say it’s a woman thing, but I’ve met lots of women who also aren’t comfortable being with their emotion. The people around me are always telling me I “shouldn’t” feel a certain way. I found that being with my emotion can help me figure out things sometimes, other times I just need to embrace myself, like you did here. Thanks for sharing it, Nick.

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Thanks a lot for your input. I’ve noticed that tendency in my family, and in many ways, I feel like the leader. Though I never got the explicit message that I shouldn’t feel a certain way, I definitely always sensed and absorbed my family members’ discomfort with their feelings. It wasn’t until I started realizing my own that I saw just how deep theirs was! So, it’s a big thing for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

