December 21: What’s All The Hype About?

by Nick Andrea

I am a skeptic of New Age mumbo jumbo. Despite being a highly spiritual person, there is a difference between genuine spiritual insight and completely subjective flakiness. I have long felt, therefore, that all the hype about December 21, 2012 was just that, hype.

I came across a video yesterday, however, that challenged this view (http://m.worldstarhiphop.com/video.php?v=wshhE760139Zoty020Ju). And, the reason is because it says the event will not be a major cataclysm, the planet’s not going to turn into a ball of light, etc., but there will be a subtle opportunity to experience heightened consciousness.

The video is a Mayan man talking about Dec 21 from their tribal perspective – straight from the horse’s mouth. He doesn’t say anything about global catastrophe, as so many New Agers have speculated (except the heightened search for anti-matter scientists will be doing that day). However, he says we will align with the galactic core, which in turn send a powerful beam spiritual energy at Earth for eight minutes. This will grant us an experience of heightened vibration and clarity, allowing us to see where we are going wrong in life and to change our ways. He suggests we record all the ideas and feelings during this time and put them into practice, thus creating major consciousness shifts around the globe.

While I’m not convinced that what he’s saying is accurate, what have I got to lose? Healthy skepticism is good but you have to be open minded in life, because there is too much unknown out there. So, like Pascal’s wager on whether or not God exists, I say, “why not?” It’s just 8 minutes of my life that I will set aside during which I will either surf the cosmic vibes or go “Well, that was a bunch of malarkey,” and then party with a tin foil hat on my head for shits and giggles.

But there is a deeper lesson in all of this, which is why I’m writing this blog post. I believe this shift can happen anytime we awaken to our true nature. Lasting change always comes from within, not from ayahuasca, spiritual initiation, or cosmic vibes from the center of the galaxy beaming towards our planet. It is you and I, doing the work on ourselves, with a commitment to create a better world, that will build a new spiritual foundation for our planet.

What does that mean to me? It means, this moment, like this: Yesterday I walked my dog at dusk. The moon was high in the eastern sky, receiving the light of the ever-giving sun that I could no longer see for the day. And, it was showing me a crescent sliver of its alighted face. All was still, awaiting nature’s transition to the nighttime world.

And I realized how blessed lucky I am to live in such a beautiful place. Is that not what 2012 is really all about?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Culture, Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 21: What’s All The Hype About?

  1. Mike Stack says:

    Beautiful Post, and true ☆•*•.¸¸☆•*´¨`*•.¸¸.Blessed we truly are.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.✲*•.¸¸☆ ♥ Trust Your Self*¨*•.¸¸♥ Love This Sacred Planet and*¨*•.¸¸♥ BE ♥¸¸.•*¨*in Gratitude… All Ways.

  2. Tyler K. says:

    Hey brother I just wanted to drop a line and say that I really like what you had to say here. I especially like this…. “Healthy skepticism is good but you have to be open minded in life, because there is too much unknown out there.” I suppose I just am relieved to hear someone say that because I have been living amongst many disillusioned new age spiritual type folks for a while now. I try to be open to their ideas, but some are just so far out, so irrational that it brings confusion and overly complicates the notion of spirituality. And the thing is, none of these people seem authentic. They try so hard to portray the image that they are a spiritual person by the clothes they wear, the symbols they tattoo, their overall style etc. It all seems like a big ego trip to me…I feel that a truly spiritual person does not go out and try to stand out from the crowd. They just bring love, peace and good intentions everywhere they go – and you can usually feel that through their presence. I’m sorry that I’m ranting to you. I just really like how you think – you choose the middle way. Healthy skepticism yet open minded. The image you painted of you walking your dog under the moonlight….I feel that I have been there a thousand times. What more do you need spiritually but to feel connected to the earth, to the universe, to all the fellow beings, to marvel at the unknown and to be a part of this life right now? I feel that this new age mysticism and other religions generate distractions from these and I’m just glad to hear from another person that seems to “get it”.
    Aloha brother

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Hey Tyler, thanks for your thoughtful remarks. I’m glad someone is resonating. 🙂
      Chogyam Trungpa referred to what you are talking about as “spiritual materialism,” and it’s what happens when marketing materials get a hold of – and trendfiy – spiritual concepts. The irony is that even most spiritual teachers in the West are marketing masters. Yet at what point do we let go and allow the gold within to shine for itself?
      Lately I have been deriving a great deal of wisdom from the Tao Te Ching, with its emphasis on modesty and inner power. It seems, it takes more than good marketing to be a real master. 🙂

Leave a Reply

