A Fool For God

by Nick Andrea

Surrender to a higher order; this is what so many of us who identify as spiritual but not as Christian are missing. Buddhists, Tantrics, Taoists, Lightweavers, etc. etc. We are arrogant. We think we know something. We are afraid to be fools for God.

I had a tremendous spiritual awakening in church. That was six years ago, and it was so easy to forget about after I split from the church because of the closed-minded dogma I encountered. I had a dream last night, however, that reminded me of the power of that realization. It can be summed up in a few simple statements:

  1. I don’t have to do anything to receive the unbounded love of God. It is given freely. All I need to do is say “yes.”
  2. I don’t have to understand to be guided. All I need is to trust the heart.
  3. I don’t have to be anything special to be a conduit for God. Just to be myself is enough.

I miss those days when I didn’t have to do, to know, or to be anything special. I miss those days when just being alive was enough to feel the presence of Love. I miss those days when everything was put into perspective and life’s choices were so simple: “‘Love the Lord thy God with all your heart and all your soul and all your strength and all your mind,’ and ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”

I still don’t believe in dogma. And I still believe most, if not all, traditions lead to the same place. But, I’m gonna go on bein’ a fool for God. ‘Cause, I just got to.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Encounters With Spirit, Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Love Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Fool For God

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    Goodness and morality does not come from dogma. It originates from within. Good post, Nick.

Leave a Reply

