Who am I? Part I

by Nick Andrea

What is my Self that never changes? What is my eternal soul? Who am I, really?

I am a vast presence, a vast peace, a vast freedom that exists at the core of my being. It is like this uncreated Cosmic Womb from which “I,” and the mystery of my life, emerge.

Speaking of this “I,” the one I call, “Nick Andrea,” what is it? It is the persona which encapsulates my true Self, which allows the true Self to experience itself as one variation of a human being, which the true Self uses to operate in the world of form.

“Ok,” you say, “That and $3.75 will get you a cafe mocha. Who cares?” Well, I’m so glad you asked. The persona, while being necessary for the true Self to play its game, is like a ball of yarn formed of tendencies and patterns that are bound by the laws of cause and effect. It is not free, like the true Self, but is conditioned and can get out of sync. IT CAN FORGET ITS SOURCE, which leads to a whole host of problems the root of which is unhappiness.

The cause of this spiritual amnesia is resistance leading to illness on the physical, emotional, social, and mental levels. The mystery within only wants to give us everything, but the persona doesn’t always get it, so it resists. It’s kind of like squeezing a blood vessel that constricts the flow of life. That’s where meditation comes in.

Meditation is the process of becoming aware of the resistance to the truth within. Awareness is a paradox because, while it does nothing but pay attention, it accomplishes very much in this simple act. It dissolves resistance.

So, I recommend this practice of awareness to anyone who feels out of sync with their true Self; with joy; with the wonder of existence.

Read on to Who Am I? Part II to see how this affects the world at large.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who am I? Part I

  1. Pingback: Who am I? Part II | Nickandrea19's Blog

  2. Pingback: Who am I? Part III | Nickandrea19's Blog

Leave a Reply

