American Un-Happiness

by Nick Andrea

I just couldn’t resist passing this along. It’s a really great article and commentary on the American obsession with “being happy.” The interesting thing is that, for me, the only real happiness comes when we end the search for it; that happiness is natural when we don’t resist this moment.

And this ties into thought: thought and happiness do not mix. I’m not talking about figuring out how to get to this new restaurant, or about what you need to pack in your suitcase. I’m talking about thinking that is directed at achieving happiness, or, put another way, avoiding the reality of this moment. Enter meditation, the process of moment-by-moment relaxing into what is and ending the resistance, the struggle, the search for something other than this.

http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/09/22/america-the-anxious/?ref=opinion

We have to decide as a nation what kind of culture we want, going forward. Sometimes the relentless push for more happiness, enlightenment, more money – for things to be other than what they are right now – is unbearable for me. I have at times considered leaving this country to be in a place where people are more comfortable with the present moment.

I have decided against that, however, opting to believe that there’s a reason I’m here. I can’t change a place by leaving it. So, then, it must be my purpose to affect this kind of change here. After all, it is almost certainly why the likes of Eckhart Tolle chose to headquarter their work here.

Won’t you, then, join me? Won’t you help us create a new nation based on non-resistance to what is? Won’t you help me show the world that happiness is not something to be built, found, or attained, but that it already is, now?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Inspiration, Politics? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

