Reason For Gratitude, Even On A Bad Day…

by Nick Andrea

I woke up today, groggy, stomach feeling funky, dreary and rainy outside. And Monday. Yuck. As I walked the dog it started raining on me. As I hoped to finish studying chapter 3 of my networking class material, which had taken me a week and a half already, I discovered I was only halfway done. As I walked out of my office to get a drink my computer cord reached up and tripped me. I wasn’t having a good day.

As my irritation grew I realized that there was, in fact, nothing wrong with the day. The cord didn’t trip me on purpose, the networking chapter wasn’t sixty-four pages to annoy me, and it wasn’t raining outside to make my curmudgeonly. I was angry because I was resisting reality as it was. My flow, my conditioned way of functioning, my preferences were not in sync with how the world was, and that’s going to happen eventually to anybody who minds what happens.

Once I realized this some space opened up inside me. I walked into class and said hi to my professor, who remarked that I looked happy today. What? I didn’t feel happy, but the first lesson of the day was: you just never know how you come across or what other people see in you. In fact, by the end of the class I did feel happy again.

Next, in talking to some students who were also taking networking, I realized I wasn’t the only one who was feeling defeated by chapter 3. In fact, I was able to explain some concepts from it to another student that I didn’t realize I understood until they expressed their dismay. Lesson number two: despite being overwhelmed by what I was trying to accomplish, I was still learning a lot more than I realized. My hard work was not in vain. Moreover, I felt, “I still love this stuff.” I wasn’t expecting that after wrestling with the beast for a week and a half, something that I could normally finish in less than a week.

The third lesson came when I was filling up my jug of water at the local Kangen water oasis. The lady filling it asked me how my weekend was, and I told her it was great. I recalled to her the lecture of a monk I saw, who is doing great work in economic justice. The lady and I had an inspiring conversation about it, and by the end I remembered the hope I had felt, and I still feel. I am part of an exciting change, in an exciting time of our history.

So, the storms may come. The moods may blow through like the wind, but there is always something to be grateful for. I read an inspiring quote this morning in “The Science of Mind” magazine (p. 51, Volume 85 No. 9, September 2012):

To one who waits, all things reveal themselves,
as long as you have the courage not to deny in
the darkness what you have seen in the light.
–Coventry Patmore

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reason For Gratitude, Even On A Bad Day…

  1. Thank you Nick….I needed that!!! I like the way you think!!!

Leave a Reply

