Happiness, Part II

by Nick Andrea

The Path

In my last post I discussed that the world is unsatisfactory. No relationship, no career, not even parenting can keep me happy forever. Permanent happiness must be based on something deeper.

My answer is awareness. This means recognizing that the moment is a product of the past and there’s nothing I can do about it, for better or for worse. It just is. I cannot change the fact this in this moment I am in an unhappy relationship, an unfulfilling career, in poverty, etc. But, I have a choice: I can run from that fact or accept it. Awareness is accepting it.

Paradoxically, my life may change. My relationship may improve, or my career may take some unexpected turn that makes it much more gratifying, or I may find a job that pays me well. But this does not happen from my struggle, from my resistance of what is. It does not happen from running from this dissatisfactory reality. It happens because my awareness of the moment grows and, ironically, the dissatisfaction loses it’s hold on me.

In pure awareness unhappiness cannot exist. Unhappiness is the result of a divided mind. Awareness, however, takes no prisoners. It occupies all of my mind-stuff, leaving no room for dissatisfaction. Then, I become what I naturally am: joyous.

Joy is my natural state, and joy begets joy. That’s why when people become aware or “awakened” their lives often improve, but not our of force, not out of resistance. It improves because they have become more present to the moment.

But, what, really, is fruit of awareness? Where is this all leading? Read on to Part III, the final entry in this series to find out.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

