Revenge and Karma

by Nick Andrea

Have you ever had someone do something so lousy to you, like leave you for your best friend, that it makes you so angry you just want to punish them? And you feel justified in doing so…..

When somebody hurts us that bad our anger takes on a righteousness. We may feel that it is our place to punish them and that’s their karma. However, the difference between karma and revenge is that revenge is angry while karma is not.

The truth of the universe is cause and effect. You reap what you sow. All religions, East and West, agree on this. Everything we do, good, bad, and ugly, creates a ripple effect in the world that eventually comes back to us. This is a natural process, but Nature is not angry when does it. She’s very objective. Cause and effect. Simple.

Now, life may use you as an agent of karma at times. For example, I was left by my ex-girlfriend for one of my best friends three  years ago. However, I wasn’t being a very good boyfriend because I had issues and I was ignoring my intuition telling me I needed to end the relationship and get in touch with myself. My ex ended up falling in love with the friend out of nowhere after two years of friendship. It was almost like the universe caused this to happen, at least in part, to deal me the karma of ignoring the truth of my own inner guidance. My ex didn’t leave me out of anger and punishment. She left because she was in love with someone else, even though it hurt me like hell.

So, there is no such thing as righteous anger. If it’s gripping you it’s not righteous. Let’s not think it’s our job to deal out punishment, karma, judgment. Let’s instead work on healing from our own anger and let the universe take care of the rest.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Love Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

