Ghosts

by Nick Andrea

I am a vegetarian, it feels great, and I don’t do it for moral reasons. Do I think you should be one, also? No. I think you should listen to your body. It will decide what’s best for you. However, if you think you might actually be a vegetarian and you’re thinking about embracing it, read on.

I have many friends who’ve toyed with the idea of going meatless for years. The chief complaint I hear, however, is that somehow if they stop eating flesh they’ll become a vegetarian ghost, withering and blowing away in the wind.

It’s bogus. It’s totally bogus. I live an active life, exercise, and drum regularly, and I haven’t had a shred of animal protein (including meat, fish, and eggs) in nearly two and half years. Before that, my intake was slowly dwindling for ten years. When I first moved to my current location I lived and worked at a vegetarian retreat center for a summer. Day-in and day-out I worked very hard, chopping down trees, clearing overgrown brush, and fixing up an old house. Not only did I not lose any muscle or strength, I gained both.

So, my main point here is a lot of people would like to become vegetarian but they’re AFRAID. There’s something about flesh that makes them think it’s somehow healthier for them to eat, but that’s not true. Your body is completely capable of assimilating vegetable proteins. Do you have to eat smart as a vegetarian? Yes. Do you need to eat complete protein combinations? Yes. But, this is as easy as rice and beans, mac and cheese, or tempeh. It’s not that hard.

So, if you’d like to become vegetarian but you’re afraid, I’m here to tell you that you need fear no longer. After all, I’m living proof. 🙂

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ghosts

  1. We’re on the same wavelength this week – I have a post in the works on this topic. 🙂 Back in January 2011, I committed to the decision to switch to a vegetarian diet and began to chronical the adventure in my blog. It took me about eight months to figure out how to do it. Cutting eggs out of my diet was the most difficult because they’re hidden in so many foods I like – from noodlels to cole slaw (in the mayo) to French Toast to fried veggies dipped in an egg coating to cookies and cakes and breads…well you get the idea. I had a lot to learn about substitutes.

    I had some bloodwork done this week and discovered I’m low in B-12 and D (this is the topic of the post I have in the works). This is my next leg of the adventure for me apparently. I’ve been doing a bit of research to see how I can work more foods into my diet that contain these vitamins. B-12 is a tricky one! I curious about how other vegetarians are getting their B-12. Any suggestions?

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Wow Lunar that’s cool. Yeah, it’s hard being a veggie in society. As far as B-12 I actually take a shot, which I got prescribed by a doctor and get filled at the local compounding pharmacy.

      I don’t know if I’m low I just do it as a precaution. However, I’ve heard that beets and beans have a fair amount of it. But I’d like to know more which foods do, so keep me updated on what you find out. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

