I’ll Be Back Tomorrow

by Nick Andrea

I am in a tropical place. The beaches are soft, white sand, cool even in the midday sun. I am not wearing any shoes. My shorts are loose and my shirt is buttoned-up only part-way, practically hanging off me.

Azure Ocean’s waters are warm and serene, inviting me to take a dip. I consent and immerse myself into her salty, healing embrace. Her ebb and flow goes on and on reminding me that every moment is born of the infinite, stretching backwards and forwards into eternity.

My companion joins me, for I always wish to share that which I love with another. Together we enjoy Ocean’s gentle waves, lovingly stroking us. I look at her and smile; she smiles back. Thank you, God, that we exist in relationship. Indeed, this is the nature of all things. So, too, do Ocean and Moon exist thusly, dancing with one another in the movement of the tides.

Back onto the beach, now, my companion and I drink cool, refreshing mango juice; sweet, nourishing nectar. Shhhhh……….shhhhhh, the waves roll in and retreat, roll in and retreat. Stronger now; Moon is pulling Her. Clouds begin to gather in the distance. Weather, storms, a power greater than us! – the frame of bliss.

I go back into the water. Crash! Roll! I am thrown by Her in rapturous glee! Fun fun fun!

Swimming out a little further; dangerous now! “Come on in, honey,” my companion yells from the safety of the straw hut. Nonsense! I am a stubborn kind, following my own instincts as Nature calls me. I remain, enjoying the violent tossing about, remembering Her power over me. Nature is ever like that.

Boom! Crash! Roll! Ok, that’s enough fun for one day. “Coming honey!” I yell back in delayed response. Swimming ashore I barely get out, for She keeps pulling me back with her rip-tide, beckoning me to keep playing. Sorry, my love, but I’ll be back tomorrow. 🙂

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Love Chronicles, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll Be Back Tomorrow

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    Lovely imagery. Felt like I was right there with you. So glad you’re enjoying some time away and in the moment.

Leave a Reply

