True Emptiness

by Nick Andrea

When I first learned about Eastern spirituality and the Buddhist concept of “emptiness (sunyata),” I tried very hard to realize it; to be no-thing, no-self. However, my father observed one day, “You’ve gone deeper and deeper into yourself only to find that there’s nothing there.” He was right, but he was not complimenting me.

Buddhists claimed that experiencing this “emptiness” was to be a full and joyous experience, but for me it was, well, empty, no pun intended. It was not fun so I eventually gave up.

A short time later I found Jesus, or something. At a church one day something extraordinary happened with me. Something surrendered, opened up. It was like I met something greater than myself and this left me with an enduring peace for weeks afterwards. (It was so powerful I still laugh when I tell the story.) It was through this experience that I discovered the real purpose of emptiness.

Unfortunately, there was a lot about mainstream Christianity that wasn’t Godly so I took the core experience and fused it with my understanding of Zen. The purpose of being empty is so that God may fill us with his light.

Emptiness is not an “empty” thing as I once thought. Like everything it has a context and that context is the fullness of Spirit. However, “we” as we understand ourselves are not that Spirit. It is us and greater than us. Therefore, “we” must be empty that it may flow through us and use us to create a better world.

Just ask any real artist; she’ll understand. 🙂

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to True Emptiness

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    This I can absolutely relate to. I felt the fullness-of-emptiness in my experience. I’ve written a short story about how I came to believe what I do. In it is my very profound experience, like you had in the church. My blog isn’t specifically about spirituality, although I touch on it. However, I’ve debated with myself about sharing that short story on my blog. I just don’t know if I’m ready to put such a personal and profound experience out there. I guess I’ll know, or perhaps get a nudge from the higher-self, when or if it’s time. Thanks for sharing this.

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Sure, Lori. I had that issue, too. However, I decided that what is the purpose of my experience but to share it with others?

      • Lori DiNardi says:

        Oh, I don’t mind sharing my experience with people when we speak. However, the written version is in story form. It starts with my childhood and my Catholic upbringing (some personal stuff about family too), and it moves into how I found the spirituality that I practice today. I’ve let some people read the story and am happy to share with people who ask. I just don’t want to put it out on a blog that I don’t have set up for such deep spiritual discussion. I appreciate blogs like yours where I can join in to speak of it openly online. My blog got started as a means to get my author-name and writing material out there. My published writings are not on this subject.

      • NickAndrea19 says:

        Ah, I see. Beautiful.
        Well I’d love to read it if you’re so inclined.

  2. Lori DiNardi says:

    Hey Nick, I suppose I can email the story to you if you’d like. Don’t feel obligated to read it. It’s in a Word file, so it would be an attachment.

Leave a Reply

