So, I just quit my job, and it’s all my fault…

by Nick Andrea

This post is about power, my power. Currently, I am going to school for web development. I have also been working in this field for the past two or so years. School is full-time and takes up most of my workday, making it necessary for me to take out students loans for the bulk of my living expenses.

Several months ago I decided I wanted to get more work experience while in school. The aim of this intention was to forward my learning while providing me with a minimal side income to augment my student loans. My affirmation was something like, “I am working in a low-paying job where I’m learning a lot.” I thought the “low-paying” part was fair since I’m still, well, a student.

Within weeks I got exactly what I had asked for. I could hardly believe it, too, since I got the job on Craig’s List and it was a real job, not just a paid internship or something. Well, that’s how the universe works: it conforms to the shape of your thoughts.

So, here I am several months later griping about how little I’m getting paid. It amounts to something like minimum wage or even less at times for fairly advanced web development. I’ve had several arguments with my boss whom, despite the low pay, I actually like very much.

But here’s the funny thing: since I got what I asked for I’m actually arguing with myself, with my original intention. Hahahahaha. So, I just quit my job and it’s all because of me. It’s not because of my boss. She was just magnetized to me when I set the original intention and charged it with emotional energy and faith, so it’s not her fault. It’s mine! As I said, I really like her as a person. I just wasn’t clear on what I wanted.

Great! So, obviously working for minimum wage even if I’m learning on the job and even despite my “student status” is NOT what I want. What I actually want is part-time work where I’m learning and getting paid what I’m worth. That’s very different.

This was a valuable learning experience. It showed me my power and my ability to create what I want. This is called Science Of Mind because it’s a science to intend for what you want to experience, get it, and continually revise what you want. It’s really more a science of Self and the key phrase is, “What do you want?” because you just might get it. 😉

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So, I just quit my job, and it’s all my fault…

  1. Earl Dunbar says:

    You are staying aware and acting on that awareness. Good.

  2. Rich Weaver says:

    Good for you Nick! Good luck with everything!

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Hey thanks Rich! By the way I’ve been meaning to catch up with you. How’s the new position for you? Man, if I was still living in Delaware I would totally sign up to work with the drumline!

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Hey thanks Rich! By the way I’ve been meaning to catch up with you. How’s the new position for you? Man, if I was still living in Delaware I would totally sign up to work with the drumline!
      PS – Next time I’m in town I’ll give you a buzz.

Leave a Reply

