Fasting Diary, Day 3

by Nick Andrea

  • True Surrender. I only want to be one with God. I don’t wish to be something special, but just to let God through more and more.
  • Little Hunger. It’s getting easier.
  • Lord Of The Rings. Finished LOTR today. After Frodo and Sam return home from their harrowing adventures that nearly took their lives on many an occasion, they are able to write and jest about it.
    JRR Tolkien, author of the LOTR, also had harrowing and life threatening experiences during WWI. Like Frodo and Sam he was able to understand the story of it, however. Life is a story not quite serious. That is a big revelation for people like me who take this adventure way too seriously.
  • Astrology. This is a science I’ve been stuck on for a very long time, taking it way too seriously and superstitiously, which in turn poisoned my self-trust. However, today I had an experience that finally liberated me.
    My upstairs neighbors’ mother is an astrologer and she was visiting from Florida. Well, they don’t have the most stellar dynamic and yesterday were apparently fighting all day. The three of us were supposed to attend an astrology meetup but when it was time to leave came knocking on the door and said they had been fighting all afternoon, and that her son didn’t want to go. Then she launched into this lengthy explanation of how the alignment of the stars caused their fighting and how it all adds up and, honestly, I’m watching myself in her and going, “That’s crazy,” inside.
    You’re not fighting because of the stars. You’re fighting because you’ve decided that’s more important than communicating. There, I saw the danger in replacing one’s core principles – which rarely change – with what the stars say is supposed to be happening. It’s insanity.
    Now, I’ve been neglecting my inner voice for too long because of what those who read the stars said. While it’s true that the planets influence us, so does the weather, our culture, the food we eat, our DNA, etc. The planets are only AN influence and to take them too seriously – to replace what we know within with what’s supposed to be happening – is insane.
    Truth is always within. No esoteric science can replace that. One does not achieve success because they do what the horoscope says. They achieve success by standing on their principles and listening to their intuition. And, hey, I’m sure that will align with the stars…
    …at least sometimes. 🙂
About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog, Fasting Diary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fasting Diary, Day 3

  1. Corey says:

    i’d like to talk with you more about your thoughts on astrology (and LOTR). it’s aways nice to read a sincere and honest blog. thanks for sharing.

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      I am very much looking forward to drinking tea with you. 🙂 Things are in flux right now. I think once August rolls around and school starts we’ll be able to plan something. Maybe around the start of Virgo or something. 🙂

      • Corey says:

        sounds good. things are a little crazy on my end as well (moving, starting a new business, dating random people, etc.) and August looks like it’ll be a little more steady for me too.

        just shoot me a text or message on fb when things are a little more settled for you. Virgo schmergo 😉

Leave a Reply

