TextWrangler Helpful Hints

by Nick Andrea

I’d like to talk about a few helpful hints I’ve found using TextWrangler, the free version of BBEdit for Mac.

  1. Cmd + J takes you to any line you enter. Very helpful when using Firebug to edit your 1000’s of lines long stylesheet.
  2. Search and Replace function (Cmd + F)
    1. Multi-file search (Shift + Cmd + F)
      The usefulness of this function cannot be overstated when you have a huge site and need to replace one thing everywhere.
    2. Grep Searching (see http://www.anybrowser.org/bbedit/grep.shtml#MultiChars)
      I was coding a list of hundreds of countries for a form. I had the HTML but I needed them clean, without tags, to enter into a plug-in with WordPress. Furthermore, each option had a different id attribute, so I would not have been able to use a simple search and replace function. So, deleting each tag manually would have been like trudging through the black lagoon with a giant gash on your ankle. EEEEEEE!! So I checked the Grep option checkbox and used this command:

      (Find:) <option value
      (Replace:)

      And voila! The unique three character country code was spoken to by the 3 …

Well that’s all for now!

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

