Thrive

by Nick Andrea

Recently I saw the movie Thrive. It can be found at thrivemovement.com.

From it I extracted several important points:

  1. Your enemy is not your enemy. We are all on the same side.
    We all really want the same thing: to thrive. Yet, we have been duped into thinking that to do so others must lose. Competition has lost its place in our belief systems as something that makes us all better, to something we must always win in order to survive. So financiers play dirty games to get ahead, large business owners buy politicians to create policies cementing their success, and the smartest of society are led to use their wonderful brains to achieve greater personal gain, rather than solve the world’s hunger problems. Indeed, that’s part of why I quit social work. I didn’t think I was going to “make it” financially.Yet the truth is that another’s gain is your gain, and vice versa. We’re all in this together, we’re all on the same side. Make your living, therefore, in a way that uplifts the world. See the people right in front of you as yourself, even your enemies, even your business competitors, even the politicians you hate. They, too, just want to thrive. Can’t we do this, together?
  2. Believe in your creativity.
    This is, in my opinion, the most deadly serious point of the three. The oppressive powers in this world thrive because you are unwilling to trust yourself – that still, small voice inside.
    When you were born you were given something so original, so unique, and so vitally important to this world that it just cannot stand not to have it. It may not make sense, it may be foolishness to the mind, but it gives you life. To trust this gift liberates you because it allows you to be what you naturally are. It also liberates those around you by giving them permission to do the same.
    Expression of this non-rational passion with is critical to your happiness; for if you are on your deathbed and you haven’t done so, you will experience an unfathomable pit of regret. Don’t waste your time on planet Earth. Trust yourself.
    So, what do you want to do with your life? What strikes your fancy and turns up the heat in your heart? What makes you feel wild and self-expressed?
    Answer these questions for yourself. The world needs you, all of you, for it dies a little more when you say no to your passion. You have the power of Everything moving through you. Trust it, and it will not fail you.
  3. Life is not a zero-sum game. It is a +1 game.
    The materialistic approach to life that dominates our super-size-me culture, dampens the spirit, and leads one to believe that “life’s a bitch and then you die.” Or, at best, buy the biggest toys ’cause life is meaningless. That is, if you can afford them.
    Fortunately, this is a false understanding of the matter. Life does not add up to zero in the end. It does not end when your physical body passes.
    Instead, life is a +1 game. There is a reason you are here, and that reason is consonant with every other creature’s reason for being here. And, it’s big enough and powerful enough for everyone to prosper and be happy.
    So, if you find yourself doing unhealthy things, or carrying a lot of fear around, know there is a liberating reason behind your existence, and ask the world, “What is it?”

So, help others, love life, believe in yourself. We can thrive, we can. Believe it.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrive

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I agree with everything here except the competition thing. I think it’s all a state of mind and our attitude toward it. Nature runs on competition.

    What if you and I wanted the same exact job at the same exact company? Only one of us could get it. (this is only one example, as it doesn’t necessarily have to be a job)

    To me, competition is a teacher. If you get the job and I don’t, does that mean we are dividing and conquering? Should I walk away crying victim because you got the job instead of me? Should I sue the company for not treating us equally and working with me to find a way for both of us to do the same job? Should you turn it down so my feelings won’t be hurt and I can get the job instead? Or, is it an opportunity for me to learn something? Perhaps I can ask the employer what I could do to improve my qualifications for a shot at the job in the future.

    I see it completely the opposite from what this suggests. I think we can thrive on competition. Just because someone else “wins” a competition doesn’t make someone else “less” in any way. If we see it that way, then it’s our attitude, not the competition. Competition actually pushes me to learn, to improve, to thrive! I’m grateful for competition, and I’d congratulate you for getting the job instead of me. Like you said, change the way you look at people, and you can do that even if someone is your competitor. Like I said, it’s all a state of mind.

  2. NickAndrea19 says:

    Your response encouraged me to edit this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

