Guru

by Nick Andrea

Last night I have this dream where I’m with a guru, Baba. I was expecting all these spiritual bells and whistles from him, however, there weren’t any. In fact, he was quite relaxed and normal. I was afraid of one thing, however, that he could read my thoughts. Because of that I wanted to leave his presence, and by that measure I was making a big deal out of him.

Many of us on the spiritual path are impressed by great spiritual masters who can do miraculous things – Jesus, Ramana Maharishi, Shrii Shrii Anandamurti, to name a few. We “make” something of them as a result. But the real purpose of the guru is to reflect our own inner self. To have done miraculous things Baba would have distracted me from the real teaching of the dream, that I was afraid of my own thoughts.
What I should have done was just remained with him and not made it about him. So he could read my thoughts or he couldn’t read my thoughts – it doesn’t matter. How do I feel about what’s going on inside? And that’s what he’s there to show me.

Some years ago I had a very powerful experience in church – an awakening, if you will. After that I began studying the BIble and praying a lot when one day I received a pretty clear answer within. Jesus said to me, “Why are you focusing so much on me when you should be focusing on yourself?”

That was interesting considering that in the recently discovered Gnostic Gospel of Thomas he says to his disciples, “When you know yourselves you will be known, and you will understand that you are the children of the living Father. But if you do not know yourselves, then you live in poverty, and you are the poverty.” (Chapter 3:4-5).

So, if the point is to know ourselves then what is the guru to us? The guru is an opportunity for us to love another human being not because of what they do for us but because of who we are. Any guru worth his weight in gold will prioritize expanding your awareness of yourself over impressing you with miracles, for when we know ourselves we have the capacity to give the unconditional love they embody, but when we do not know ourselves we are looking for someone to show us the way or do our work for us; we are left in a state of wanting. This is also reflected in the Gospel of Thomas where Jesus says, “If you bring forth what is within you, what is within you will save you. If you do not bring forth what is within you what is within you will destroy you.” (Chapter 70:1-2). He means that when we know where the outer guru is pointing, that itself will save us, but when we do not know and remain attached to someone else or something else to bring us fulfillment we will be destroyed by our own insatiable desire.

These principles apply not just to having a guru, but also to other things like sex, drugs, and money. Even food. Anything, really.

So, through this wonderful dream I was reminded of the holy mantra that saves me, “I am enough.” And since Jesus says, “It is done according to your belief,” I will believe that, practicing over and over again until it is my paradigm. Then hopefully I will have as much love for the guru as the guru has for me. 🙂

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guru

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I tell people that during my period of seeking, I finally found myself, and in doing so, I found God.

Leave a Reply

