The World is Getting Crazier, and yet…

by Nick Andrea

I am very pessimistic about the way the world is going. Two days ago Amendment One was passed here in North Carolina, banning the legal recognition of civil unions. Too bad, gay folks and those who wish to start a family without having the corrupt church’s stamp of approval.

I’ve this impending feeling of crisis, even almost panic about the US of A. It feels like Rome in its days of collapse. One the same night that the Amendment passed, three of my neighbors’ cars’ tires were slashed, the door to the neighborhood tennis courts was ripped off, and the most beautiful mural downtown was defaced with spray paint.

What forward movement I do see seems paltry in comparison to the inertia to change and the flat-out hatred and disregard for others’ property and rights I see in this country.

And yet through all of it I choose to remain in the presence of God. Through all their is to get down about something deep inside me just. will. not. give. up. hope. I wrote on facebook, “I guess hope is not something that comes from what happens outside, but a choice one makes regardless, inside.” and so it is.

I choose to surrender to the flow of the divine within me. It guides me, always, and has never let me down. It takes care of me and does not let me fall. It brings me everlasting peace in the moments I choose It. Now, what’s to get down about that?

 

 

The world is getting crazier, have you noticed? Amendment One was just passed here in NC.

Yet, I am surrendering my will more to the One within. What better time to do so?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The World is Getting Crazier, and yet…

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I too, have had this sense of impending doom for a couple of weeks now. It feels larger than with just me. I hope I can stay centered through whatever is to come, as I tend to have anxiety.

  2. NickAndrea19 says:

    Well, the world’s been in crisis of some sort for all of recorded history. Just ask the people of medieval Europe during the Black Plague, or the residents of Ireland during the Viking Age, or the Ancient Egyptians with all their slaves and famines and drought. I think it’s our nature to create crisis because we’re afraid of the unknown. The simple truth is that none of us truly knows anything, and that scares all but the most realized of souls, like Socrates, or the Buddha.
    This unknown, Lori, is our nature. It is who we are. It is life – a Great Mystery unsolvable. The anxiety you and I and the rest of us feel is, I believe, directly traceable to this is one form or another.
    And that’s kind of my point with this post. I choose to believe in God, wonder, serenity regardless, and I do it not just for myself but for the whole world. Indeed, if everyone thought this way we wouldn’t have half the problems we have. The ruling elite concentrating their power and making it difficult for the rest of humanity is just their response to the crisis of unknowing. 🙂
    I think we stay centered by remaining in relationship to other good people who want the same.

Leave a Reply

