Surrender, once again

by Nick Andrea

I know I’ve written about this before, but it’s something I feel compelled to keep harping on. Even as I write there are many ideas flowing through me, so much I wish to capture, but can’t. I just can’t. Nick Andrea, the identity, self, brain, is just too limited to capture all that NICK ANDREA, the truth, Self, being, is. I try to capture just the very tip of the iceberg and show the world, that I might communicate the profundity of who we really are in the process. So let me try.

The point is this: can you trust enough to let go?

In surrender I have found my greatest salvation – surrender of control, to my Self, to the truth within.

One May afternoon six years ago, I found myself in a church, something I didn’t expect. (I had been invited by some friends.) About halfway through the service something happened. An amazing synchronicity occurred that neither I, nor the pastor who served as the conduit, could not have been orchestrated consciously. It was like looking into the face of God.

Immediately I felt something well up inside me, a catharsis. It wanted to be released in glorious tears of joy. I held back, for I was SCARED at which point I felt a voice inside me say, “You can hold back and stay stuck in your rut, in your smallness, for a while, or you can just let it all go now and feel the glory of God.”

So I did, I let it all go. It flowed like a river of joy, gushing from my eyes, gushing from my soul. I had been wound up so tight for so many years, trying to ensure through my own efforts that I would find God, and here he was, just right here. When I let go, I was rewarded with that which I so deeply wanted.

Needless to say, I discovered a lasting peace that day that endured for about two weeks without any effort on my part to maintain it.

Now, I don’t write this to promote the church or anything like that. They’ve got their dogmas which are just another form of control. It’s what happens when that lasting peace subsides and they want it back. They try to insert control upon themselves and others through enforcement of belief systems and rules. That’s why I don’t attend that church anymore.

But I don’t need to, to practice surrender. It’s in me. It’s my choice. The world is my church.

Surrender is the key to joy. We all have a higher self which knows the way to go, is perfect, and always has our best interest at heart. Like the Sun it is ever shining inside of us. (It is that Self which told me to “let it all go” in church that day.)

I have it. You have it. We all have it.

What is the opposite of surrender? Absolute control. And where does it lead? To rigidity, unhappiness, death.

So, can you trust enough to let go and receive the Living Waters of the One?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surrender, once again

  1. Lori DiNardi says:

    I had a similar experience as a teenager. Mine lasted for weeks … months. It was the most profound grace I’d ever known. I saw God in everything. I miss it. Since then, having seen and experienced hardships over the years, it’s difficult to surrender, but it is necessary. Good post.

  2. Lori DiNardi says:

    I mean, it’s necessary to find peace, but it’s not required. 🙂

    • NickAndrea19 says:

      Thanks, Lori. I think it’s easy to get jaded by the world. That’s why Jesus talked about it so much. I’m not saying it’s easy, but I certainly want it.

      I intended this post for people who obsessively live by the rules. Some are in my family. These kinds of people won’t make a change unless you beat them over the head with it. 🙂

      • Lori DiNardi says:

        Heh, family. I’ve given up beating then over the head trying to get them to see. If they don’t see while they’re here, they’ll see when they get to the other side. It’s all good. However, I was just commenting for myself because I have trouble surrendering. What I mean by that is, I have trouble with letting go and letting God. I sometimes cling to tight to control. Just my own little issue I battle with. 😛

Leave a Reply

