Me, whole, perfect, and complete?

by Nick Andrea

Years ago my Zen master told me, “We are whole, perfect, and complete.” The meaning of this cryptic statement eluded me for years. It was like, “Yeah, that’s why I’m just bubbling with joy, right?”

Recently, however, the meaning of those words became clearer. Through spiritual practice I experienced (and experience) that Heaven lives inside me as a boundless ocean of peace. It was like, “Holy shit. It’s true.” Wholeness, perfection, completeness – these things live within.

After Shuzen Sensei told me that I asked him, “Well, if we’re whole, perfect, and complete then why do we get married?” He laughed and said, “Because we’re whole, perfect, and complete.”

We do what we do not to get complete but because we already are. To use the marriage example, we don’t get married because we’re lacking something. We do it because, as a complete person, partnering with another complete person allows us to do things together that we couldn’t do on our own. Like have children. Or serve the poor. Or whatever.

Being complete also doesn’t mean we won’t have situations we want to change. We may be broke, or we may have trouble attracting the right mate, or we may be making lots of money but feeling like we’re not living our purpose. No problem. You can change what you want to experience, but that’s not because changing those things will make you any more complete. The jobless, drunk bum on the side of the road is just as complete as you are.

Again, we change things because we ARE complete. In fact, it is because you are complete that you CAN change your reality. If this did not exist within you, you could do nothing. But this mind you think with and this voice you speak with is the mind and the voice of God. With your thoughts and your words you create reality. That’s what meditation is – the focus on a thought.

So, know right now that you are whole, perfect, and complete. Smile. Then ask, “What do I want to experience?” From there you can create through your practice the life you wish to live.

**Note: When visioning I find it most helpful to focus on the feeling tone I want to experience, not the particulars of how that will manifest. For example, “I feel in love,” or, “I am on purpose,” instead of, “I am with Stacey Johnson,” or, “I am a rock star.” You dig?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

