The Trees of Our Souls

Who looks at the trees anymore? I did today, walking in the forest along the Blue Ridge. As I became enraptured in their earthy beauty silhouetted against a clear blue sky, I noticed how they stood silently, as they have ever done.

From birth to death these majestic creatures do this, enduring all seasons, all things. In the morning when you drink your tea they’re there. In the afternoon when you’re busy at work, the trees are just standing. When you come home to a warm house and enjoy your family and your dinner, still the trees are there; and when you are fast asleep in your bed at 3 am, dreaming of some adventure far off, the trees remain – silent, present, alive.

Is there a part of us that remains ever silent, present, alive?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Trees of Our Souls

  1. I love trees! thank you for sharing the love!

  2. Lori DiNardi says:

    Hi Nick ~ Funny you should blog about this. A few months back when I was walking, suddenly I had great awareness of the trees around me. It inspired me to write a poem about them … trees. I was recovering from a surgery at the time, and what struck me about them is there strength and resilience. They gave me the will to be strong too. Thanks for reminding us of the trees and the metaphor.

  3. NickAndrea19 says:

    Thank you, Lori. I would like to see your poem. Trees are amazing teachers of awareness. They just “be” day and night. I used to have a zen teacher that would say, “If you don’t know who you are, go ask a tree.”
    We normally regard them as a passive part of the scenery but to realize they are alive and conscious is a wonderful moment, and I was regretful that I missed their beauty so much of the time.
    I also just read an article that talked about how plants communicate. This study was done with tobacco plants that, when infected with a virus, released a chemical in the air for other tobacco plants to be on guard and put their defenses up. It was pretty extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

