Never give up the vision

My girlfriend and I have been looking for a new place for several weeks. We set our intention before we began:

-2 br, 1 bath

– Hardwood floors

– Washer/dryer

– Less than $870

We looked at several places, most of which were okay, not bad. Some were good, others were really good, however, none quite fit the bill.

My inner critic began judging me for being a spoiled brat; “Why can’t you just be satisfied with something practical?” it said. Susannah had the same drama, but when she asked me if we were being too picky I said, “No. We want what we want. Let’s just stay the course.” We had seen so many places, each of which having some but not all of what we wanted, however, so I felt the need to refine our search. I wrote it down:

– “Nice neighborhood, preferably Montford. We’d rather have a smaller, nicer place than a larger, grimier one.”

You see, dream creating is a science that requires you to test the waters over and over again, refining the vision continuously until you get it right. Without this experimentation there can be no progress. You can’t just expect to set an intention and find exactly what you’re looking for right away because you probably don’t know what you want, until you throw yourself in the mix.

Back to my story, though. This morning Susannah was looking on the computer when she said suddenly, “Oh look, Nick, 2br 1 bath, Montford, hardwood floors, washer/dryer, $865. They just put it up.”

“Call them,” I replied. So she did, and the lady who answered was shocked that she got a response five minutes after having posted it. We arranged to go see it and it fit the bill exactly. Voila!

Never give up your vision. Your higher self puts desires in your heart for a reason. Thomas Merton said, that God never puts a desire in one’s heart that he doesn’t intend to fulfill. I’ve discovered that over and over again. It’s an evidence-based conclusion. 😉

Be ever open to refining your vision, however. You will likely have to several times, but never settle for anything less than what you want.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

