Four Mantras to Live By

 

  1. It’s not worth getting to the top of the mountain unless someone else is there.

It’s really not. Your relationships are at least as important as your attainments. Other people are what make living fun. Without them it would be a lot more dull. Someone once said to me, “You have the capability to progress very fast at whatever you want to. Just make sure you don’t neglect your friends in doing so.”

How many of us value our work more than our children, our spouses, our friends? A zen master once asked a student at a retreat, “Why do you meditate every day?” The student replied, “Because I want to!” The zen master answered, “That’s the number one wrong answer.” So the student asked back, “Why do YOU meditate every day?” The zen master responded, “For you.” Nothing is worth attaining if you can’t share it with others. Believe me.

  1. When you finally realize what life is about, you will be filled with love.

That’s the whole of it. The great late Shrii Shrii Anandamurti gave his disciples a universal mantra to chant before meditation each day – “Baba nam kevalam.” Translated it means, “Love is all there is.” It’s true. John Lennon and company were right.

I had an experience when I was about 25 that taught me this. I was with somebody at that time that I wasn’t being fair to. I really wasn’t ready to be in a relationship. She didn’t care, however, because she loved me that much and wanted to give our relationship a chance anyway.

She really believed in me. She also told me then that she cared so much about the people in her life that she would carry them on her back if she had to. Small girl, big heart. One night that hit home and I was devastated by the tiny size of my own heart, the smallness of my love. It was painful. I felt ashamed. I wasn’t ready to love like she did.

It was also amazing, though, because I felt that through her God had graced me. While it didn’t work out between us, the lesson of unconditional love remained with me. And that’s when I took a canvas and my paints and wrote, “…and when you finally realize what life is about you will be filled with love.”

  1. Enlightenment is not in a path, it’s in the balance.

You cannot attain enlightenment by being anything – not a monk nor a householder, a renunciate nor a connoisseur, a poor man nor a rich man. Enlightenment is not in being anything, but in being at the still point at the center of it all, like a perfectly oiled ball bearing that spins around to meet the moment with whatever is needed. The enlightened master, having walked many paths, can make use of them without being bound by them, to help whoever is right in front of her.

Enlightenment is thus not in one path, but a sacred balance of them all.

  1. You are God. The sooner you realize that the sooner you’ll be free.

God lives inside you, inside me, inside everything. What you call “yourself” is a unit consciousness, a unique expression of God, but made of God nonetheless. God is reading this page. Nothing but God. Now. You may say, “But I don’t feel like God.” Well, that’s because you haven’t practiced being God. The God in you wants to know you’re seriously committed to being awesome, and It’s not going to give you all the magnificent gifts It has for you until you’re convinced, through and through, that you’re God. So it takes some work, but you’ll get there.

Here’s a hint: it’s easier to do it with others. When you can see It in others you will see it in yourself, and when you can see it in yourself you’ll see it effortlessly in others. Try this: practice looking into people’s eyes and saying to yourself, “I’m looking at myself.”

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

