A Subjective Approach to an Objective Truth

You are the absolute truth of the universe. Do you know that? Right there, sitting at the computer, reading these words. You. There’s not a thing in the universe that isn’t sitting right in front of this computer, reading this text.

“Okay,” you say, “that and $4.20 will get me a cup of coffee at Starbucks. It used to be $3.40, but it went up since I read your last blog.”

“Right,” I reply. It’s not enough to know that we have the whole universe in our heart, that the Kingdom of Heaven is within us. We must figure out how to live it, to feel it.

That’s really the crux of it, isn’t it? That’s why people do bad things – because they feel like shit. They know the Kingdom of Heaven, the Kingdom of Bliss is within, but for God’s sake they don’t feel it! So how do we do it? How do we feel our divine nature?

So, I called this post “A subjective approach to an objective truth.” The objective truth of the life we’re living is that we’re made of bliss – it’s what we are. Your and my and everybody’s purpose is to find that out. “But if we’re all to arrive at the same place, isn’t there only one way to do it?” you ask. Good, and that’s why I’m writing this article.

The nature of the beast is that no, there’s not only one way to do it. That’s why it’s a subjective approach to an objective truth. You have to find the gate within you that opens to the blissful realm. You have to find your own set of keys.

“Great, Socrates, how do I do that?” you remark. “Good,” I reply. Let’s start with this: you don’t know shit. You never will. Get that through your head. I once knew a guy in his 70’s who said, “When I was a kid, I knew everything. When I got to my twenties I still knew most things, at least more than my parents. In my 40’s I started to question things, and about 50% of what I thought I knew turned out to be wrong. When I got to 60 I realized that most of what I knew was not the truth, but I still knew a few things, you know. Now I’m 75, and I don’t know a [explicative] thing.”

In zen this is called don’t-know mind. It means that your thinking mind will not find you answers. Sometimes you have to think, like how to get to the carwash, or how to calculate how much it will cost to get your degree. But none of that is stuff that will make you happy, it’s all just facts. It’s what you went to school for 17 years in our public school system to learn how to do.

Your mind will not help you find the keys to the kingdom. There’s nothing you can think about that will make you happy. So how so we find the way? It’s called intuition, and you find it by listening. There is one place in my body that frequently speaks to me. It’s this spot located a few inches below my heart. The yogis call it the “lotus of the heart,” or the seat of intuition.

“But how do I know it’s really intuition and not just me making stuff up?” Because it feels like bliss. You’ve heard it said, “follow your heart.” It’s another way of saying, “follow your bliss.” So here’s a good exercise – if it feels like bliss, follow it. If it feels like sadness, guilt, shame, and anything other than bliss, don’t follow it. You’ll have to find this out for yourself, but I can tell from repeated experience that there’s no place for mea culp, no place for self-flogging. There’s no more time for that shit. God wants you to be blissful and he wants you to be blissful now, because you’ve got work to do – spreading bliss. So if you’re stuck in dramas about needing to suffer or needing to feel guilty, check that because it’s all just drama, and you’re perpetuating it by avoiding yourself.

Trust your bliss. Do not be afraid that by doing what you love you are avoiding some kind of cosmic responsibility. It is your responsibility to do what you love. I know, it’s work, it’s effort to trust yourself, but trust me it will pay off. So get yourself out of the hole. Trust your bliss, shirk your sadness. Find your keys. Any questions?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

