Who are you?

by Nick Andrea
The One is called by many different names: God, Allah, Yahweh, Baba, Guru, Christ, Emptiness. I prefer the term “the Spirit that moves in all things,” because it’s both concrete and abstract. You can experience its effects tangibly in daily life, and it’s abstract in that it’s not confined to one person, one guru, or one savior. Even the great sages have extrapolated this truth: Christ said, “the Kingdom of Heaven is within you,” Paramahansa Yogananda told Roy Eugene Davis when he ordained Roy to teach, “You can teach. The same spirit that moves in me moves in you, too,” and Shrii Shrii Anandamurti said to his students, “You are never alone or helpless. The same force that guides the stars guides you, too.”
Ok, so let’s begin by asking, what is the spirit that moves in all things? Let’s say it’s an unseen thread that connects us all. Another way to see it is as the universal field which is us. It allows us to know things psychically, causes people in unrelated cultures to discover the same thing at the same time, and is the source of those countless synchronicities you experience. It’s smarter than all the brains in the world combined, it always works in your best interest.
Ok fine, so what are some practical effects of tapping into it?
1. Increased learning ability.
When there’s no barrier between you and others, you pick things up osmotically. You cannot do this when you have erected barriers between you and them, though. Let’s say, for example, that you are a martial artist. You can see your competitors as either allies or enemies. As allies their skill becomes your skill, as you learn their moves. This is how I learned tai chi push hands. As enemies, you are too overcome by anger to assimilate any new knowledge, and are likely to be defeated over and over again. The same process applies to business, academia, or any other endeavor in which you are not alone (like pretty much everything).
2. Increased compassion and intuitive powers.
Compassion is a natural consequence of self-knowledge. The “conflict” in conflict becomes only misunderstanding when you realize that you and all life are going in the same direction. Intuition is the fruit of compassion. When you truly pay attention and observe it happens naturally. It’s simple.
3. More energy.
This one blew me away. I haven’t been sleeping well lately, and a being tired was one thing that always kept me in myself. I never thought I could overcome this until I started hanging around children. I noticed that by forgetting about myself and paying attention to them I began reflecting their energy, and this wasn’t some sort of vampiric “taking from,” but a mirror-like “reflecting of.” When we forget about ourselves, our mirror becomes clear and full of others’ brightness. Then you as a mirror become bright.
4. More magic.
The more I tuned into the indestructible connection I had with others, the more incredible synchronicities began happening. Now they’re so commonplace I just accept them as paradigm. Here’s a story: Susannah and I were coming back from a wedding in Georgia one time. It was early in our relationship and it had been a challenging trip for me; I knew noone, and they were all very different from me. I felt out of place, and the whole experience had me wondering if she and I were really well-suited or not.
The night before we left I had an intense emotional experience where I spilled the beans to God, telling him how low I felt and asking forgiveness for being a control freak, and I surrendered everything. During the experience I was reliving an awakening I had with Christ many years back. I was thankful for it and asked for his guidance.
The next day we drive back and had dinner at this Japanese restaurant. During our conversation I became sure I would no longer live with Susannah and move out on my own. After we finished we went to Ingles to buy a few groceries. We’re walking to the frozen isle and we start talking about Jesus. (I think we had read something about him in a Science of Mind magazine on the drive.) I had gotten a text an hour or two before, but I didn’t check it for some reason. So I pick up my phone and read the text; it’s my best friend who I hadn’t talked to in weeks, and it says, “Nick, I’m just remembering how real Jesus is. I pray none of us forgets that ever again.”
I was floored. Susannah says to me, “You know, I’m not that good.” I reply, “neither am I. We’re not that ANYTHING. All the good that exists in us is Christ that lives within us.” Christ is the unified field, the unified field is Christ, and it’s known by many more names than that. Tune into it and you will see its work.
5. World peace.
The evidence I have of this are the innumerable conflicts in my personal life that have been overcome by the working of the spirit that moves in all things. Through it I have seen that I have more in common with others than I realized. However, I can’t claim with complete certainty that this leads to world peace. It takes more than just me. Will you take up the torch?

In truth there is no ‘me’ and no ‘you,’ there is just this one giant amoeba, and it lives in all these little membranes called ‘you’ and ‘me.’ Is this a curse? No, it’s a blessing, the most wonderful blessing imaginable, because it means we’re all in this together. It means we don’t have to do it alone. And it means that if ‘you’ don’t have something ‘you’ can get it from another part of your amoeba-self that lives in another membrane with another name. And that’s good news to me.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

