An Exercise to Get Over Money Fears

Most people are driven for money by fear and lack. Are you one of these people? Even just a little? If you’re a human being you probably are, and that’s probably one of the reasons you’re here.

Ok, so

Principle #1: You make, you get, and a lot more of it.

If you plant an orange seed, you’ll get an orange tree, and lots of oranges, and on and on over the years. Our beliefs are like that orange seed, and they grow, ripen, and bear fruit just the same. If we plant from fear and lack, we will get fear and lack, except a lot more of it because Nature (aka Mind) is abundant.

How does this relate to money? Consider Bernie Madoff, or the executives behind Enron incident, or the corrupt mortgage lenders who prepared the field for the economic collapse of 2008. These are all the fruits of minds dominated by fear and lack, in other words the beliefs, “I won’t have enough,” or “I don’t have enough.”

You may shake your head and say, “All of these people had far more than enough to run their lives, so why did they do such abominable things?” Because of

Principle #2: Money doesn’t solve problems; you solve problems.

Yes, I know, you’ve heard it all before. The love of money is the root of all evil, money doesn’t make you happy, only we can be the cause of our own happiness. “So,” you ask, “how is this article any different from all the Science of Mind Lip Service I’ve been talking for the past 10 years, which hasn’t gotten me a penny more? I’ve been affirming that I am abundance, that I have no lack or limitation in my life, and that God is my unfailing provider of nourishment and wellbeing, every morning, since June 2001, and I still don’t have enough.” All of that is true, but you haven’t seen the results – the pudding, so to speak – because you still believe in fear, you still believe you’re lacking, at some level.

In order to move forward, we have to acknowledge where we are. If we’ve been planting briars all over your garden, but you want strawberries, you can’t plant the strawberries until you uproot the briars. (And if you don’t believe me, try it. You’ll end up bloody and frustrated.) So, I’ve come up with an exercise to overhaul your inner garden, so you don’t end up like Kenneth Lay, but instead you get filthy rich and inspired, like James Smith (or something like that):

  1. Take out a sheet or two of paper. Consider the question: what do I want money for? Write all the answers, being as genuinely, brutally honest with yourself as you can. Also write specific reasons why for each, like for example, “I want enough money to buy a house with my wife, so we can each have our own workspace, have a large place to prepare food so we’re not cramped, have enough space to do yoga together, have garden space to grow our own food, and have space for others to stay with us when they come in from out of town.” These are all concrete, and not too abstract (too much abstraction is a sign that you may not really know what you want.)DON’T JUDGE YOUR ANSWERS, LET THEM FLOW, even if they sound selfish to you.
  2. Next read your answers. What do they say? Are they inspired? Are you wanting these things to make life better for yourself or someone else? Conversely, are any of them based on fear or lack? Do you want money for something you’re afraid of? Are any of these answers protecting you against some unknown?

Here are some typical affirmative answers:

A. I want enough money to buy that malenke set of drums so I can better teach those kids in Hillcrest.

B. I want enough money to go to groups, teachers, and workshops that support my spiritual growth.

C. I want to make $10 million to start a non-profit organization that teaches yoga and holistic living to villagers in Ghana.

Here are some typical fear-based answers:

D. “I want to have enough money to pay my bills and save for retirement, and then make $10,000/year surplus, just in case.” This guy is afraid of some unknown; they don’t know what, but life can deal them a serious blow and they’d better prepare for it. The problem with this is that if they make that extra $10,000/year for that unknown calamity, they’re inviting it in from the universe. The universe doesn’t like excess, and it will deal you that serious blow if you’re preparing for it.

E. “I want to make $10 million dollars so I never have to work again.” This lady is afraid of work. What they don’t realize is that life is movement, so if they don’t productively contribute, life will make them ill. Jesus said in the Gospel of Thomas, “If you bring forth what is within you, what is within you will save you. If you do not bring forth what is within you, what is within you will destroy you.”

F. “I want to make enough money to extend my business and grab 100% of the market share in my industry.” This CEO is afraid of competition, in other words, of not having complete control. It’s the fear that one’s service does not have enough intrinsic value of its own, to allow others in the area to try their hand at offering the same.

  1. Replace fear- or lack-based responses with affirmative ones.

D. “I want to have enough money to pay my bills and save for retirement, so I’m supporting my existence now and into my old age.” This response tells the universe that you want to be responsible for your own existence, and its trusting that any unforeseen difficulties will be including in its provision. Remember, ‘God is your unfailing provider of nourishment and wellbeing,’ and he won’t let you down.

E. “I want to make $60/hr. for my work, because that’s what I’m worth.” This response says, “I’m willing to work, and I want to be fairly compensated for all my effort.” The universe is obliged to honor this request. We all should be fairly compensated.

F. “I want to make enough money to regain 75% of the market share, where it once was, and learn from my competitors how to improve my service.” This says, “I want to make up for lost ground by providing a better service.”

What’s the point of all this? It’s to replace our fear and lack with inspiration. This allows ENERGY to move in to places it was previously blocked, enabling true abundance; life is not about having excessive wealth nor impoverishment, but about having exactly WHAT we need. And in that delicate and faithful balance lies the Sacred Flow, the Waters of Life, the Manna from Heaven. So, what could be better than that?

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Exercise to Get Over Money Fears

  1. Pingback: Fears of Making Extra Money

Leave a Reply

