Attn: Perfectionists, 2 Principles to Get Over Yourselves

by Nick Andrea

Life is not about attaining some ideal like being the richest man ever, being valedictorian, or being president.

If you’re anything like me, you’ve grown up extremely goal-oriented, your self-esteem interlaced the achievement of goals. Most of those have been set by others, and the rest of which you set, after the manner in which others did. You were that over-achieving kid that cried the one time they got a failing grade because they thought they were doomed or something. People like us can’t stand not to be enough. Except, the truth is we’ll never be enough because we don’t know who’s standards we’re trying to live up to.

We’re all striving for some goal of perfection – richest man alive, enlightened master, champion of the game. Oh man, it used to consume me, and I became good at achieving perfection – led two little league baseball teams to championships, started flying lessons at 12, finished two years of college calculus before I graduated high school… Mmhmm, and ten years later was still wondering, “Who the heck am I?”

Now, it’s my belief that we all have to get it right. I mean, we have to be perfect, utterly perfect, and if you’re not then boy you better watch out for the doom hammer. But here’s the catch

Principle #1: perfection is in passion, not standards.

Standards are a paltry substitute for passion. They’re what people impose on themselves and others when there’s not enough energy, or, you guessed it, passion, running through the system. Unfortunately, when standards start taking over they drive us to do inhuman things, like Bernie Madoff. People like Bernie are slaves to standards, not passion.

But what does passion feel like? It’s something in you – alive, flowing, moving. It’s something blissful, uncontrollable, and larger than who you think we are. Why is that? It’s because it’s bigger than the mind that knows. It’s awe-inspiring, terrifying at times – and I know you’ve had an experience where you were afraid of something you wanted. You said to yourself, “It’s just too damn weird. My parents won’t understand, no how no way.” Mmhmm….. (Just so you know, that’s the evolutionary force that pushes one generation beyond its parent generation.)

Principle #2: passion is in self, not others.

Kabir says:

When the Guest (the true self, the passion) is being searched for,
it is the intensity of the longing for the Guest that does all the work.
Look at me, and you will see a slave of that intensity.

In my early years I was so afraid of this thing inside me that I did everything I could to make sure that I was perfect for everyone else so they wouldn’t see that I had no clue who I was. Luckily the awkwardness began to increase the older I got, and especially in my mid-twenties. Luckily I couldn’t hide it anymore. Luckily the guiding forces within me would not let my hide it anymore, and I was forced to face my passion, head on.

So that’s what I’m doing, and this Harmony for Humanity project has really got my insides on fire, like my guides are just going, “Oh yeah! Yeah man! Hell yeah! You got it right bro!”

Perfection is in passion, and passion is in you, just like the kingdom of Heaven. If you don’t know what I’m talking about but you’re not feeling the passion, ask yourself this, “What am I avoiding?” It will eventually lead you to your heart, I guarantee it. 🙂

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

