To meditate, to live

What is the goal of all of our activities? What are we trying to attain? I’ve grappled a lot with this question on my path, and what I’ve come to is this:

The point is life. We are trying to attain life. What is life? Life is our flow, right here right now. It’s the moment-to-moment guidance we receive from Source.

So then, what is the point of meditation and other spiritual practices? The ancient taoist master Chuang-tzu described meditation thusly, “Sitting and forgetting.” But what are we forgetting about? We’re forgetting about our ego for, as Dr. Wayne Dyer says, it is ego that gets in the way of realizing we are God.

I used to think the point of practice was to attain enlightenment, so become a Buddha, a Christ, to dissolve into the nether-realm of cosmic consciousness. However, I think I was way off, for I believe that we already are those things. What is there to attain, then? Is not our life in this moment the point?

I believe it is, and that Buddha-hood, or Christ-hood, or Cosmic Consciousness can be found right here, right in this moment, right in your flow, and not outside of that. So now I don’t meditate to attain anything. I meditate to know that Source that is inside me, within me, that is me.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

