Be true to yourself

Is being true to your experience, is following your experience, even in the face of opposition from the authority, the same as stroking your ego? How do the “authorities” know what they know, anyhow?

If you’re anything like me, you’ve come to the realization that 99.99% of the people in the world don’t really know anything, especially when it comes to telling you how to run your life. They pretend to, they want to believe they do, they may even form organizations around “truth,” because they’re so sure….and yet, that doesn’t bring them any closer to it, and they are left not knowing anything.

I don’t know about you, but I have run into this problem many times. I didn’t always see it, but looking back over the years most people I’ve dealt with haven’t had a clue. Now, I’m not saying I do, but everybody whose ever tried to tell me how to live my life – psychologists, zen masters, monks, nuns, teachers, my parents – have been wrong. For many years I really wanted to find my guru, the one who could tell how to do it, but none that I ever encountered reflected my true inner self.

Now, maybe I’m way off. Who knows, but I can tell you that my experience has led me not only to believe in IT, but I find it also diverging markedly from those I consider “authorities,” you know, persons of “knowledge.” Now that I’m beginning to trust my own instincts and lessons, as they come to me in ways that I understand, others’ systems for me are becoming even more off. Funny.

To give an example of how this kind of thing happens in religious experience, consider the Eastern vs. the Western spiritual paths. Those from the East may claim that their yogic path is highest way, because it’s scientific, doesn’t ask you to take anything on faith, and holds you karmically accountable for everything you do. They may even have a guru that’s a super-duper human, like a really genuinely great avatar. He may cure the sick with a touch of a stick, heal the wounded with a hand mudra, etc. AND STILL, you might be feeling that you are being down a different path. This incredible guru and the practice he gives does not resonate with your heart. What do you do?

Let’s take a more down to Earth example. Let’s say you’re a creative person. You know if your gut that you want to be an artist or a designer. You go on Employment.com and see that the latest survey indicates that designers are having a hard time finding employment right now.

In both of these cases, what makes sense to the “authorities” (and even to your conditioned consciousness) is contrary to what you are experiencing. What, then, do you do? What do you do when your experience conflicts with what makes sense to others, others who might even be successful in what they’re doing?

You know that still, small voice inside that’s always right and always looking out for you? Socrates called it the Logos. He said, “When I follow the Logos, everything works out, and when I don’t, it doesn’t.” You know what else he said when the Oracle at Delphi pronounced him the wisest man in Athens, “I am the wisest man because I know that I know nothing.”

So here’s what you do when you’re up against “authorities” whose way of doing things differs from what the Voice is telling YOU:

First, don’t know. Realize that neither you nor they know a gosh darn thing. Celebrate it! Zen Master Ken Kessel once told me, “We’re all bozos on this bus.”

Second, be present to your experience. Don’t worry, you’ve got the truth inside you. What you need to know is always there, has always been there, will always be there. If it weren’t you wouldn’t be alive because remember, that God’s breath inside you. You got that? The very breath of God, inside YOU! The ruach that God breathed into Adam to animate him. Remember?

It’s not that nobody else will never say anything that resonates for you. It happens all the time! After all, the same spirit runs through me and through you and through others. As Shrii Shrii Anandamurti said, “You are never alone and helpless. The same force that guides the stars guides you too.” Other people can help you, and you can help them, but they never said anything true that didn’t also resonate with your inner intuition.

Yeah. And one final note: it takes courage to be weird, but you’re not going to get anywhere until you fully embrace – and believe in – it.

Oh one more final note: recognize “authorities” as full of it. They are. In my experience there isn’t one authority on your life higher than your own intuition, in this world. To be scientific, however, in the remaining .01% of people I have imagined the possibility of someone who actually does know something, just in case. I’ve never met one, but I reserve the possibility should it ever arise. If that happens I may completely change my views. Until then, however, I’m sticking to my guns. 😉

Amen.

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

