The Hopi Creed

I took a workshop this past weekend with Jonne Rae Bartges called Spirituality 101, during which she mentioned the Hopi Creed: at any given moment you should be able to stand in front of the Creator and answer three questions:
1. Who am I?
2. Why am I?
3. Where am I going?

As I worked at my job today these words echoed through my consciousness. It was raining all weekend and finally cleared up just as we finished the workshop – a glorious end to a powerful weekend. Yet, since then I had had a persistent feeling that today would be subdued.

I woke up this morning and the parted clouds that gave way to the sun and congealed again. In fact it was wet, again, and it was cold. Blaaaaah.

Now, I like my work, but I had no energy for it today. I labored through simple tasks, dragging my feet through the mud. “Nick, can you e-mail so and such about this and that? Then can you do such and so, and….” Yeah, sure boss. Ugh, ugh. The feeling continued until my shift was over, though, I couldn’t go anywhere. I didn’t know where I was going. Sure I had “stuff” to do but I didn’t want to leave until I understood this feeling. So I sat.

I asked myself those three questions again: Who am I? Why am I? Where am I going? I got no answers. Then, I started judging myself for not knowing the answers. I tried coming up with some: “I’m a web designer. I’m a helper of humanity. I’m a etc. etc.,” but of course it didn’t work because the answer is an energy, not a thought, and trying to change energy with thoughts is like throwing a nerf ball at a planet.

So, I didn’t have my answer, but one thing I knew was that I was hungry. I got up, prepared lunch, came and sat down, and began eating it. Then as I tasted my salad, an intuition came to me:

“This salad:
Mixed greens, dill, and cilantro. Dried cranberries, pecans, olive oil, and apple cider vinegar.
The colors:
Green, dark green, deep red, dark bungrundy, brown.
Like the day.”

Then, a bunch of other ideas came, particularly pertaining to my work. I left and got a sketchbook to draw them. Purpose began to run through my veins again, and here I am writing this blog post.

So, here’s the rub: when we’re lost it’s because our energy is lost, and God (our Higher Self) speaks to us through energy. When we ask ourselves those three Hopi questions and get answers that satisfy us it’s because our energy is satisfied. That’s why when I feel lost, disinspired, blah, ugh, eck, eek, whatever, I sit until my energy gives me an answer (see Karma and Intuition). The ironic thing is while it is the Creator who demands answers to these three questions, it is also He who puts them in my heart. 😉

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hopi Creed

Leave a Reply

