Karma and Intuition

“Karma and Intuition”

Intuition is like this: there is a golden path up the spiritual mountain of your life already laid out for you. It is clear-cut, smooth, maintained. It is easy and pleasant to walk on. From it you can enjoy the scenery all around because you don’t have to focus too much on the path. Call this your “golden path,” and everyone has one. Intuition is seeing that and following it. It’s not complicated, but very simple. All you have to do is see and walk. It is always there, and if we want to know whether we’re on it all we have to do is look down and see, even if we can only see a few feet around us.

The calmer we are the more able we are to see it. However, sometimes it’s not easy to see because there are various storms that come and go. We are like mighty shamans that can cause these storms at will with our thoughts, words, and deeds. These storms are ourselves, our inner and outer environment. If we’re caught up in the flurry of emotions and keep moving we might not see the path and drift off into the brush, unaware of our surroundings. This I call making karma. At these times it’s best just to sit down and not try to make any progress, not try to make any changes in the world until the storm passes, because it’s really hard to see. This is usually what people call meditation. It’s much better than going forward blindly and getting lost and having to find your way back.

Doing this meditation everyday and, ideally, every moment, is a good practice because it ensures that you’re constantly reorienting yourself to where you’re going. It connects you with your intuition, the path itself. However, if you don’t see it clearly then it’s like taking a detour and venturing off into the weeds and trenches. In the end it’s not really a big deal, it just takes you out of your way and off your golden path up the mountain. Then you have to trudge back through it to get back to the path. You have to put forth more effort, or take more time to get back to the path. Now, some people want to make a new path. They want to do it their own way and not take advantage of what has already been laid out for them by the Spirit. They can do that, though, it takes a lot of additional work for they’ll be forging it all the way up the mountain, struggling the entire time.

In the end, then, I choose to follow the path that’s been laid out for me and the beautiful thing I’ve discovered when I do that – it connects me to others,

About NickAndrea19

My goal has always been and continues to be the liberation of minds, my own and what influence I may have on others, to perceive the extraordinary beauty all around us. To this end, I write, play music, and design websites. Don't hesitate to contact me for more information about any of these activities. :)
This entry was posted in Expansive Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Karma and Intuition

  1. mutantboy0 says:

    What a great analogy. I love that idea, that following our intuition is like following our own personal golden path up the mountainside.

    We all know from experience what it feels like to be on the path, and we all know as well what it feels like when we are trudging through the weeds, having lost our way. Not despairing in those moments can be difficult, but it is so important, for if we despair and give up, then we will never find our way back to the path. If, however, we can find our way back and discover how and why we lost our way in the first place, then we can learn how to stay on our golden path the next time a detour or distraction arises. Like the saying goes, it’s not about whether or not we fail, it’s about how we deal with it when we do.

    And I agree completely with your idea of sitting down, of making a camp if you will, while the storm passes. We can cause ourselves great harm if we press on in the middle of a storm, we can lose our way completely, and harm or even kill ourselves by stumbling around in the darkness. I think it is a matter of giving in and just letting the storm be a storm. By wanting to keep on going even though the world is telling us not to we resist to what is; we think we are stronger or smarter than the Creator, that we know best and can fight our way against the storm. This is, of course, the silliness of the human mind, but it is a very real part of each of us, a part we must each face and come to terms with if we are to be truly humble and able to accept things as they are.

    I think you’re on to something here, and I like that our golden paths have brought us side by side 🙂

  2. nickandrea19 says:

    Yeah Scott, I like that too. It makes the path worth walking that we’ve got others to walk with.
    “Not despairing” – that reminds me of talking to this Dada this weekend at the retreat. He emphasizes how obstacles are our friends on the path because they make us grow stronger. With that kind of resolve we become unstoppable.
    I suppose the whole of the path is about coming into the One Mind. If we’re in that consciousness then an obstacle is not really an obstacle, because there’s nothing outside of us.
    In my experience, this all leads back to the intuition. There have been days where it seemed the whole world was against me, I couldn’t make any headway against the list of things I wanted to get done, and everything I touched fell off the counter. (Today was one such day!) I have come to value those days, however, as the great purifiers. The universe is just taking away unnecessary junk, and my intuition is always strong. It guides me to what I really need to do and when, and I almost always end the day feeling like I didn’t accomplish anything unless I surrender to it. Then I realize it’s not ‘me’ doing anything, but It. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Hopi Creed | Nickandrea19's Blog

  4. Pingback: The Hopi Creed | ageofthesage

Leave a Reply

